Beaches and Bandits


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Khanh Hoa » Nha Trang
March 18th 2008
Published: April 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Nha Trang BeachNha Trang BeachNha Trang Beach

As I didn't have a camera anymore I had to borrow some pictures from friends.
Nha Trang is a nice beach resort similar to something like the Costa Del Sol in Spain. The tourism industry is in full swing here along with all the negatives that brings...sky rise hotels, hawkers and robbers. Everywhere you go there is people trying to sell you stuff and they don't give you any respite even when you are trying to enjoy a nice meal. I had my bag stolen with my camera, phone and shoes inside.

Aside from that I enjoyed my time here, was nice to just have some sunshine and relaxation. Visited the mud baths one day to recover from a hangover. Lucky me I got to share a tiny mud bath with to guys, just chilled, soaking up the minerals that would supposedly turn back the hands of time and rejuvinate
our tired bodies. Following that we were hosed off by high powered waterjets, then off to the thermal baths. After all this rest we then went for a swim in, you guessed it, a thermal swimming pool!

While here we rented mopeds again and were able to go further out of the city than most, headed to some waterfalls 2km out of the city.
Mama's Boat TourMama's Boat TourMama's Boat Tour

Island hopping with our crazy guide. This is the "floating bar"
A short little trek over some rocks from *insert name*. Was a crazy ride, the traffic was much worse than in Hoi An. Other than that our time was spent chilling on the beach,
eating good food and enjoying the nightlife.

One of the nights in particular was a fairly entertaining one, we went to a bar called "Why Not" and from my hangover the next day I could definitely give you many reasons why not! There was a big bunch of us, a mix of Irish, English, Dutch, Swedish, French and German people. We decided to get the bar speciality:
a "Fishtank" which consists of a bottle of vodka, two bottles of Rum, a bottle of Gin, Triple Sec, Pineapple and Orange juice. It made for a very entertaing night, lots of laughs, games, chatting and then we headed off to the beachside for a boogy on the dancefloor. My first time in a nightclub on this trip.

On my last day in the town we decided to go on a cruise around the islands that surround Nha Trang. Our guide picked us up at 8am and I swear, I think he was drunk! We got on the boat and he instantly cracked open a can. This guy thought that he was a stand up comedian with the worst jokes ever! Our first stop we snorkled in the sea. Then we had dinner beside a different island, afterwards we were entertained by some live Vietnamese music the guide was up singing and dancing away. Off we went to another Island where we were going to have a floating bar. This was the Piece de la Resistance of the whole trip, I have never laughed so much. The "bar"was basically a square of polystyrene that our nutty guide had in the water with some plastic flowers stuck in it and a couple of bottles of REALLY nasty red wine. In the end no one could drink the wine it was so bad so the tour guide ended up swigging back the lot, he was a machine!!

I had a great time in Nha Trang, but I can't help but feel that the whole memory is tainted by the fact that I lost my bag. I really hope that the police crack down on the crime as it is certainly going to drive all the tourists away.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0212s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb