Saigon


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
March 23rd 2008
Published: April 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Mekong DreamMekong DreamMekong Dream

Life on the Delta
I decided not to spend too much time in Saigon as I am not really a city slicker. Think I made the right decision. Arrived really early into the city, dumped my bag in a guesthouse and went on the 1 day Mekong Delta Tour. It was a nice experience. Got to see how they make the sickly sweet Coconut Candy, a snake, some traditional South Vietnamese music, drink honey tea and travel on the water in Long Boats.

Next day went to the Chu Chi tunnels. It was really good to get a Vietnamese perspective of the American War. It is extraordinary how they built them! How ingenious of the Vietnamese. I nearly had heart failure when I went into the "widened" tunnel. I think I am a little claustraphobic, because I freaked out, if there weren't people both infront and behind me I would have run straight out of there! I don't know how they could have lived under there for so long, I certainly don't think I would have coped.

After my short but sweet visit to Saigon I departed for Phu Quoc Island.




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

My New NecklaceMy New Necklace
My New Necklace

I wouldn't normally wear snakeskin, but I promise, no animals were harmed!
TunnelsTunnels
Tunnels

Down you go


Tot: 0.306s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.1279s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb