Da Nang: Day 48 to 51


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Da Nang
March 20th 2024
Published: March 21st 2024
Edit Blog Post

My Khe Beach My Khe Beach My Khe Beach

My Khe Beach, Da Nang
I headed to Da Nang from Hoi An. While I am not a fan of big cities, I realised I won't be in a beach area for some weeks and hence chose Da Nang (also because it was close to Hoi An).

Da Nang is a city with more than 1 Million people, richer than most places in Vietnam, higher population growth rate than the national average (due to migration). It has all the makings of what large cities with thriving economies become.

I stayed near My Khe Beach at Da Nang, which is a popular beach.

However, I reached there on a weekend and found the beach extremely crowded. Lots of people, doing all sorts of things including exercising, co-ordinated dance/aerobic routines or just their Instagram posts, it was all happening.

Next day, I woke up to catch the sunrise (My Khe beach faces East), but the weather was cloudy. I did enjoy some swimming (in this beach, swimming is allowed in designated areas only because of rip currents).

Da Nang is famous for its seafood and I saw all sorts of seafood being sold next to the restaurant (too many varieties to detail here).
SunriseSunriseSunrise

Sunrise at My Khe Beach


In my last day at Da Nang, I headed to the Marble Mountain.

As the name suggests, this is a mountain (actually 5 of them, each named after an element), made of marble and limestone, but now no one is allowed to excavate marble from here and it's turned into a tourist site of caves, pagodas and Buddha (and Vishnu).

Marble mountain is a popular tourist destination and can get crowded even on a weekday, so best to come early in the morning.

I enjoyed the caves and the Buddhas and took my time to explore.

Da Nang isn't my favourite place in Vietnam (I am realising I have enjoyed mountains and rivers/waterfalls more in Vietnam than the sea), but it was a good change of scenery.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

My Khe Beach My Khe Beach
My Khe Beach

Palm trees add a nice color to the beach
Da Nang Da Nang
Da Nang

Seafood being sold in Da Nang
Marble Mountain Marble Mountain
Marble Mountain

One of the caves at Marble Mountain
Marble Mountain Marble Mountain
Marble Mountain

Buddha at Marble Mountain
Marble Mountain Marble Mountain
Marble Mountain

Buddha in a cave at Marble Mountain
Marble Mountain Marble Mountain
Marble Mountain

Caves are great to explore
My Khe Beach My Khe Beach
My Khe Beach

My Khe Beach


Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.081s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb