A boy... and his parents


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Binh Thuan » Mui Ne
June 19th 2006
Published: June 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It's been a roller coaster of a time here in Vietnam so far. I've been on many beach vacations, river boat vacations, to water parks, zoos that made me cry, made lifelong friends, lost friends who've moved away, and made new friends. I've eaten at street stalls on blue plastic chairs while I was surrounded by an army of rats ready to take me out at the knee caps for finishing my meal without sharing. I've learned to drive in the worst traffic in the world, without understanding a single street sign (not that anyone pays any attention to them anyways). I've mastered the heat, learned to navigate my way through Ben Thanh Market, and have even learned enough of the language to communicate with most people I come across in common situations.

None of these experiences were as nervewracking or frightening as meeting my boyfriend's parents.

For those of you who don't know, the MOST important thing in Vietnamese culture is family. There are other things of value (tradition, money, stability in work) but family comes first and above all else. For these reasons I was scared to death to meet my boyfriend Duy's mother, father, two sisters, brother and grandfather.

Let me back up abit. Duy and I have known eachother for almost three months now. We met playing pool (as he properly kicked my ass) and have decided to make it more serious with the introduction of my to the family as 'girlfriend'. This meant a trip up to the province of Phan Thiet (home of the town of Mui Ne, beachside resorts, fun in the sun, etc). I was excited about the beach, but nervous about the family. They were going to either love and accept me, or hate me and make me sleep on the street.

I won't get into details, but after a tense Alisa walked through their front door, they approved of me after two days and a half hour of musings from the local fortune teller.

His family is beautiful. They are friendly, comfortable, accomodating, and kind. They don't drink heavily, smoke or gamble (much) which in Vietnam is almost considered expected. Duy and I went for drive to the sand dunes in the town (Mui Ne) which tower over the sea by about 100 meters. He wrote my name in the sand in HUGE letters, which was perhaps the sweetest thing a boy has ever done.

To say he's stolen my heart would be an understatement, but don't be surprised if you hear more about him, as he is truly a diamond in the rough as far as I'm concerned.

I hope you enjoy the pictures as much as I enjoyed the experience... by far the best experience I've had in Vietnam yet.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



28th June 2006

Oh my god!!
Alisa!!! WHOAH! I can't believe you met this boy (he seems fabulous) AND you're meeting his parents! Congratulations dear, you deserve all the happiness in the world. Keep updatin' - my 'Nam nostalgia is fierce.
1st August 2006

Nicest thing EVER ??
Are you tellin' me that in all your years and adventures no Canadian boy ever wrote your name in the snow ?? HA !!!!!!!!! Actually...your name in the dunes is dang spectacular. Claire told me you'd met a boy....so I presume you're not comin' back any time soon then... Also-- there's a new show on "SPIKE" tv here--called "The Dudesons" It's four guys from Finland--all anmed Jari and Jurki and such--and they spend the entire show falling off of and in to things, breaking bones, crashing cars......Is this an image the Finns want us to have of them I ask....it'd be like having Ricky, Julian and Bubbles represent Canada to a worldwide TV audience. Very happy to hear/see you so happy!! Just wanted to send some Canadian attitude over. Give 'er !!!! pt
4th September 2006

Lis!! It all goes back to the transvestite at Allez, loud yelling and a rescue mission at 2:00am by your Duy ..that's when he won me over ..though i think he'd already won you by then..! So happy for youll babe!

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb