Tardy but timeley


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
September 1st 2006
Published: September 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

To quote the great Gandalf, a wizard is never late, he always arrives precisely when he means to.

If I was a wizard, I would throw the whole wizarding world off kilter for sure.

It's been months since I've last updated my blog. Sure, I could say I've been busy (cause I have, a new job, a new house, etc.) or I could go into more details like, "with my new job it's harder to find the time or the internet connection to update my blog regularly". But neither would be the truth, and I don't want to be un-truthful anymore.

This blog has gone un-attended to for so long because of some MAJOR changes in my life, that most of you reading this are already aware of. First, my most recent post is from the weekend that Duy took me to meet his parents and proposed to me. I was afraid to go into too much detail because when I made the original post, I was still alot shell shocked. I'd never been proposed to (let alone had someone prophess their love for me to the world in 20' letters in the sand).

We had originally planned on having the wedding in July 2007, he would have had a chance to meet my parents and ask them properly if he could marry me. Get my father and mother's approval, meet my family and my dog.

But.

As things in life seem to grab you and spin you around when you least expect it... I got pregnant. We'd already been living together when we found out, so at least we were co-habitating. But we still had to make some major decisions and re-assess what is was important to us.

We both decided that 'baby' is the most important... and in that, security and stability for baby. We bumped up the wedding date to September 16th 2006. And at the time I'm writing this, that's 15 days away. Yes, I'm nervous and excited. I've never been married before (god bless) and aside from a 2nd ceremony in Canada for family and close friends, I hope I never have to again.

Maybe it's the pregnancy hormones that are making me so open about all this, but I want to post it and get it out there and off my chest.(/b)

I was originally very worried about being pregnant in Vietnam.
But then I realized that millions of babies are born here every day, so what makes me so special and what am I so worried about?

I worried about what my family would think. They'd never met this guy and don't know anything about him.
But true to form, they are the most supportive, loving, kind and solid family anyone could ever ask for. We are in contact daily, they've spoken to Duy on the phone and are learning how to pronounce his name correctly. They're even having a party in celebration of my wedding on the same day in their home!

I was worried about how it must look, be in this country for only 8 months and already pregnant and having a shot gun wedding on a beach .
But I realize that if anyone was going to judge me based on this, then they're probably not going to approve of me at all. What a great way to find out who are your real friends.

We are constantly learning. I've come to accept that. On the path of life we don't have the luxury of Google Maps, or Google Earth or even an old fashioned piece of paper with a bunch of lines on it. We're like a new born baby stumbling blind through the maze we are thrown in. We try to make the best of it, but assuredley we screw up on a regular basis.

It's funny, because I don't believe I screwed up. Again, maybe it's the hormones, but I feel that this is the most natural, normal, sane thing I've ever done. Do I have my doubts about if I'm going to be a good mom, sure. Like everyone does. Do I worry about my future, of course. If my personal life history to this point has taught me anything, it's that NOTHING IS CERTAIN. Regardless of how certain you are of it. Be ready to roll with the punches, kick and be kicked when you're down, and to appreciate and savour every moment because you never know.

I'm going to be shifting my blog to a new space (as I'm no longer actually travelling, more like domesticated living) I'll make sure to post it when I've decided where to go. Any suggestions, where I can find domesticatedlivingblog.com please let me know!

Cheers.

Advertisement



1st September 2006

Congratulations
I am so happy for you. Wish I could be there to share the joy with you.
1st September 2006

CONGRATS
You seem so happy Greeny! Congrats on everything! the man, the kids, the happiness. You'll do GREAT!!! :D xox
1st September 2006

Congrats!
Your thoughts and openess are beautiful and inspiring. I wish you and Duy the best of luck. I'll be thinking of you. Robin
3rd September 2006

Congratulations
All the very best to both of you. All will be OK.
4th September 2006

This baby is going to be so lucky and loved .. and Goddamn GORGEOUS no doubt! a serious cocktail of beautiful genes here .. ! Congrats to you and Duy both ..
7th September 2006

good luck
You will be ok, Congratulations ! No you haven't screwed up ! And yes you are just living your life. You will be a great Mum because you are thoughtful and strong. Best of luck, /nn
6th October 2006

Wow!
What a suprise, I am so happy for you! Wish you all the best, I am sure you are doing the right thing... just be happy :-)

Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0543s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb