Em Khong Biet


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Mekong River Delta
June 9th 2006
Published: June 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It's been an interesting past five months. I've learned to like myself more... I've learned to like dentistry! Cockroaches and Rats don't scare me anymore. Don't get me wrong, I am not going to jump at the chance to sleep with one in my bed, but I don't jump as high. I have learned to communicate without speaking... and understand someone even though their words are foreign to me. As a 'nguoi nuoc noi' (foreign person) who stands out because of her curly hair, I've even learned to love the people who look at me strangely, and smile back.. because I'm to terms with the fact that I'm as curious looking to them as their beliefs and customs are to me. If I can gawk and stare, they can gawk and stare. Sound fair to you?

So today I took a big step, and changed the return date of my plane ticket. It's official... I will NOT be leaving Vietnam on July 15th (as originally booked) but rather I will return to the great white north for the Great White Winter... so I'll be home for Christmas. (Trev, you better remember your promise).

On that note, here are some pictures that are from my recent trip to the Mekong Delta with Minh, Khoa and Thuy. Enjoy!


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Mekong MusicMekong Music
Mekong Music

This guitar had two strings, and the frets protruded about 1.5 inches so that he could bend the note depending on how he pushed the string. Beautiful.
Crossing The "Road"Crossing The "Road"
Crossing The "Road"

As a method of travel, most families who live in the Mekong use a boat or this guy, something like a boat taxi to get from their homes into town.
Five on a bike...Five on a bike...
Five on a bike...

This poor man was exhaused after he hauled five people on the back of his bicycle built for three.
Animal CrueltyAnimal Cruelty
Animal Cruelty

This was a very sad thing to see... on a hot day, this poor bear was in a cage hardly big enough for him... let alone all of his fur!
Back in SaigonBack in Saigon
Back in Saigon

The Notre Dame Cathedral on the corner of Dong Khoi and Nguyen Hue.


Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0952s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb