Asian washing


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta
February 22nd 2017
Published: July 26th 2023
Edit Blog Post

In search of a theme for my photography I decided to take photos of washing. Not someone's dirty washing you understand, but clean and out in the sun to dry. I had once tried this before when I took my daughters to South America over 13 years ago. I had taken some classics but fairly early on our three-month trip I had left my camera in a bus. It had been so hot and I had undone my bag to get out a tissue to wipe my perspiring brow. The heat must have addled my brain. When we were at the waterfall cooling off I realised I could not find the camera in my backpack. It was never seen again and neither were the washing photos.

Most of the clothes belong to small children. Worldwide they need more washing than anyone else's. I spot vegetables out to dry alongside coats and blankets. Trousers, shirts and underwear, they are all on show.

Many of the photos we take when travelling are wonderful. A few are spectacular. I am not suggesting that all of these are spectacular but they do lend an air of authenticity to some wonderful scenery.

So, with apologies to all the laundresses and launderers out there this is my collection.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.301s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 21; qc: 103; dbt: 0.1133s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb