I get museum-ed out but adore Water Puppet Theatre and naff afternoon films on HBO!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
May 6th 2011
Published: May 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

It's official. I am totally museum-ed and pagoda-ed out. That's it, No more, cannot compute, enough already.

Today went to the (highly overrated by Lonely Planet) Museum of Ethnology. A very expensive cab ride 6kms out of town for an extra massive display of my old favourites - old pots and land tilling equipment. Oh and reproductions of tribal houses, rather spoiled by the members of staff inside on their laptops. And it was boiling hot. Even with my brilliant fan. Zipped round there and then off to the Temple of Literature although it SHOULD be called the Temple of Souvenir Tat. Starting to feel really tired but trudged over to the Museum of Fine Art. This was excellent but I was so tired, I couldn't really do it justice. Had to decide I was completely musem-ed out and admit defeat.

There was one lovely moment in the street earlier. Someone for some reason let off a glitter rocket. Suddenly the whole street was wreated in a rain of golden glitter. It was quite pointless, totally unexpected and a little moment of wonder. Everyone stopped and looked and smiled.

Spent the afternoon slobbing on my bed in the airconditioning watching naff 80s films and eating mangoes. Ooh it was lovely.

This evening I went to the Water Puppet Theatre. Decided to take a crafty shortcut I had cleverly worked out for myself, it turned out to be a wrong cut, got lost and did an extra 2 miles. Luckily I had set out early. The show was utterly lovely and I loved it utterly. Although was struggling with the fatheaded bloke in front of me who kept waving his fat head around and blocking my view. Not totally his fault. They should ban cameras and mobile phones as they're so distracting with people waving them around and its also really selfish to the people behind. HOWEVER, I was spellbound for the puppets and music was fantastic. I highly recommend this.

So I'm off to Halong Bay tomorrow on an overnight cruise. I hope it's not just a posh version of the snorkelling trip. The problem with being on boats/cruises is that you're jolly well stuck on the boat with the people and you can't get away from them. I chose a larger boat so as not to get landed with 4 loved up couples and me. This boat sleeps 17. So possibly 8 loved up couples and me!

Anyway, I shan't be posting tomorrow (unless there's internet in my cabin) so you'll have to wait til Sunday. I think I can promise you a very INTERESTING blog, if nothing else!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb