We Made It To Hanoi!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
July 10th 2007
Published: July 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today is our first day in Vietnam. We got to the airport in Hanoi late last night. The first thing I noticed when we were driving to the hotel was the amount of honking. I guess that's just the way they drive but there was more honking going on than in Chicago. Also, there aren't that many cars-most people get around on motorcyles if they need to get somewhere far away. We were exhausted by the flight because we'd been on planes for almost 24 hours. By morning though, we were ready for a little excursion out in the market today. After breakfast in the hotel (which was pretty decent-thank God for air conditioning) we explored the market. We walked to Hoang Kiem Lake which was beautiful and offered a livening breeze. We looked into a couple shops. They're a lot like the shops back home: you've got ones that sell t-shirts, others for swimming suits, and I saw one shop that sold lingerie called Annie's secrets (after Victoria's Secret I'm guessing). But most of them aren't air-conditioned and they aren't closed off from the street by doors: they're just open to the streets. It didn't take long for us to get sweaty and thirsty so we bought some fruit-don't know the English names but they were good and its too bad we don't see them too much in the states. After that, we went into a shop that sews the ao dai (the traditional Vietnameese dress) for you however way, color, and style you like, and they took my measurements for one. It's been a long time since I've gotten one and the first that I've been able to actually choose and everything. So I'm happy!

Advertisement



10th July 2007

Lol. Hali, you seem to have fun! I can't wait to see your ao dai. I bet it's really pretty! Your whole family is there right? I have you met any relatives yet?! lol. If i saw any of my relatives i would have ran away! =]
12th July 2007

well? tell me bout the dress? color? EVERYTHING!!!!
12th July 2007

AAaaaaah~ You sound like you're having fun! And you get to practically design your ao dai. Meh, lucky you. Is the flight really that long??!? I think I'd die from the flight before the heat could kill me. XP And then you guys were up and ready the next morning? Truly amazing. I was exhausted the next morning when I got back from a simple 3 hour flight. -______-U

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0275s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb