More Photos


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
June 19th 2005
Published: January 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This lady has a rooster on the back of her bike.This lady has a rooster on the back of her bike.This lady has a rooster on the back of her bike.

I really wanted to get the one of a woman carrying buckets of ducks off her handle bars.
In Hanoi... ditched my crappy bus pass and took the overnight train from Hue to Hanoi with my aussie friends and a belgium couple. I can't remember their names, so I refer to them as Hanz and Franz (even though I know that's German...and I don't do it in their company, of course.)

Anyway, train was lovely. Paid more for the one trip than my entire idiotic tourist bus pass, but it was worth it. I gave my bus tickets to the lovely Vietnamese girl who worked at my last hotel. She was very excited! I felt good about that.

Hanoi, as far as I can tell, is just another city. Lotsa bikes. Lotsa motorbikes. Lotsa nice lamps and pottery to buy. Lotsa people bugging me to 'Lady, lady! You buy something!' (Postcards, toothpicks, cigarettes, rubber door stops, gum, lighters, etc. etc. etc. etc.) It's very tiring. I just don't respond anymore. I'm heading out on a three day boat tour in Halong Bay tomorrow and can't tell you how much I'm looking forward to that. Thousands of limestone islands that shoot straight up into the air... snorkelling, swimming, fishing, kayaking. No hawkers trying to hawk me anything. (Well,
My train friends.My train friends.My train friends.

I'm the fifth wheel! Kinda like the stupid little sister, or something... :)
so they say, but I'll believe it when I see it.)

Went to the Hanoi Hilton today. It was the least interesting of all the museums I've seen. Full of propaganda.

In fact, I see a huge difference in the north so far. Less friendly. Anything to do with the war tends to have a north Vietnam vs. South Vietnam tone rather than Vietnam vs. the US. Fewer people speak english... and if you can believe it, finding this internet place was difficult. I got a taste of what foreigners in our country must feel like today... when not a one could understand me. Not a word.

It's 36 degrees. I am learning loads about patience today.

As for the situation in Siem Reap, that's horrendous. I know where that school is, I walked passed it and thought about going in to volunteer. It wasn't the school I did teach in -- that was a very small public school. Siem Reap was the place in Cambodia where I felt safe. Very sad.

Happy Father's Day to all the dads and uncles and grandfathers gathering in Prospect today. I honestly wish I were there... instead of
Sooo hot.... Sooo hot.... Sooo hot....

Even the locals can't stand it.
this stinky city today. 😉 x ox x ox x ox x xox ox x




Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Pottery in Hoian Pottery in Hoian
Pottery in Hoian

I loved loved loved it... so cheap... but no room. Too expensive to mail.
Beautiful streets of HoianBeautiful streets of Hoian
Beautiful streets of Hoian

Remind me so much of southern France.
Down on the pier in HoianDown on the pier in Hoian
Down on the pier in Hoian

Still so old fashioned... getting fish from the boats to sell in the nearby market.
Water pumpkinsWater pumpkins
Water pumpkins

Mel, these beat Zuke the Wonder Zuke, I think!
Typical gas station... Typical gas station...
Typical gas station...

Motorbikes fill up for like 40 cents.
Mr. Phong and his grandchildren...Mr. Phong and his grandchildren...
Mr. Phong and his grandchildren...

...outside his house in his village. That's the motorbike we rode!
Marble MountainMarble Mountain
Marble Mountain

With Dale (Raymond) and Katherine. Don't mind my hair.
China Beach Babe!China Beach Babe!
China Beach Babe!

Too bad the sea lice were killing me.
Dale and BuddhaDale and Buddha
Dale and Buddha

Made o' marble. Except they now ship in the marble from China so they don't tear apart the mountains... and leave nothing for tourists.
Hey Dad...Hey Dad...
Hey Dad...

...recognize this? Was eating 'world famous springrolls' in this place near China Beach and couldn't figure out why this reminded me of you... and then it hit me!!!
Amazing view of South China SeaAmazing view of South China Sea
Amazing view of South China Sea

driving from Hoian to Hue
The Vin Moch TunnelsThe Vin Moch Tunnels
The Vin Moch Tunnels

Muuuuch better.
Leaving the DMZ tour in our dust!Leaving the DMZ tour in our dust!
Leaving the DMZ tour in our dust!

(And yes, I wear the same few things every day. That's what you do when you're travelling)


19th June 2005

Hi Kel: Thanks for another interesting history lesson-can I assume that Australia may be your next destination? Continue to enjoy everyday (regardless of the adventure), stay safe and keep those journals coming, Love, Rita
20th June 2005

St. Pat's reunion
Here I am in Halifax after the wonderful St. Pat's 50th reunion -- it was a blast! Had a great time seeing old friends. Monica & Kevin and your mother -- didn't get to see Terry though. Too bad we're missing each other. Love your journals. Love, Carol
29th October 2010
Bunker at the Con Thien Fire Base

Con Thien
sufring around, can across photo. Looks really peaceful now. I was there in 1969 & 70, lived in a hole in the ground right in front of the old concrete bunker,ate out of a can for 13 months on the hill. The hill took many many hits from the nva & vc, rockets, motors & gun fire. was know as hill of angels. thanks for the post.
22nd February 2020
Bunker at the Con Thien Fire Base

The Old French Bunker
Smoked my first joint in Vietnam in that bunker - nov. 1969
23rd February 2020
Bunker at the Con Thien Fire Base

For real?!
Tell me more!

Tot: 0.202s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 59; dbt: 0.1739s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb