VIETNAM: (12/05)--Halong Bay Adventure


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Northeast » Quang Ninh » Halong Bay
December 22nd 2005
Published: July 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Chris and JasonChris and JasonChris and Jason

On the Deck of the boat
Hi everybody,

I'm emailing this On December 22nd. I quess Hanoi is 17 hours or so ahead of the West coast. I just returned from a two day boat trip to Halong Bay. For 28 U.S. dollars we got a 3 hour shuttle (round trip) 5 meals, and a nite stay aboard a sail ship that coasted around Halong bay and stopped at this amazing cave. (I mention the price all the time because I think it is amazing how much you can get for the dollar in Vietnam.) The Cave was massive...a series of paths led to two to three large rooms with stalagtites and such. Each of the rooms was the size of a football stadium. The tourguide kept pointing out animal formations in the rocks, but I'm convinced he must have had some opium.

The bay was phenomenal. There were around 2,000 islands, mostly rock structures topped with foliage, peppered throughout the few miles of bay. The formations made a beautiful backdrop along the horizon. Halong Bay is one of Hanoi's most popular tourist attractions, and I can see why. My travel books show it with emerald green water and fanned out sailboats anchored along a
Rock FormationsRock FormationsRock Formations

What do you make of this rock formation?
few of the islands. The pictures are identical to the experience. (although it was a tad bit cooler than I imagined.) The crispness of the air did not stop me from donning a swimsuit, climbing to the roof of the boat and jumping into the welcoming bay. It was quite a rush! Once in the water it was refreshing and nice. I enjoyed the swim and the jump!

There were about 15-20 tourists with us on the boat, and we played cards and drank Vietnamese beer until the generator of the boat was turned off. We retired to private quarters in the hull of the boat. What Fun. The food and company was memorable and delightful. Our boatmates were from Austrailia, New Zealand, Singapore, Germany, and England.

We all had lots to say about our previous and upcoming travels. Speaking of upcoming travels...I board a train to Hue tonight, which is in central Vietnam. We will be renting motorbikes and visiting some dead emporers. We will be continuing on to HueAhn where tailors will custom make clothing for me. Yippee!! Clothes that fit without having to shop at Gap Kids!! I should send another email before Christmas, but
Halong Bay...Halong Bay...Halong Bay...

Is beautiful!
If not...Merry Christmas.

My new Vietnamese vocabulary includes: I am deranged, I am the devil, and I am devil hooker...These tend to ward off aggressive salespeople.

Lots of love,
Jason


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Halong BayHalong Bay
Halong Bay

View from the Cave


18th July 2010

tour company
hey, do you remember the name of the tour company to halong bay? i enjoy your posts. thanks
19th July 2010

Goodness... It was4.5 years ago... No. But there are a bunch out there. All should be okay.

Tot: 0.25s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0693s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb