Ha Long Bay


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Northeast » Quang Ninh » Halong Bay
May 23rd 2007
Published: May 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Good Morning Vietnam,
Well, Vietnam is something of an enigma. After having read about the history and culture, I still struggle to make sense of it. On the one hand it is a rapidly developing country, and on the other it is a traditional blend of history and politics. The mix is dizzying for me and especially for Beth! We have found our stay to be very comfortable and efficient, but very strange. I love it, Beth is still taking most it in. Hanoi is very loud and busy due to the high population density.
The Vietnamese are some of the most proud people I have ever met. They constantly want to ensure our approval and appreciation of their hospitality and of Vietnam's natural beauty.
One puzzling economic aspect for me has been the moderately high prices for lodging and consumer goods here. The cost of living in Vietnam is noticably higher than Thailand. Items for sale therefore similar to items I might purchase in the US, preventing me from many shops. Yet, there is often no receipt and in some cases no way to return items. (I bought some bad batteries and could not return them for a refund.)
HanoiHanoiHanoi

Temple of Literature

Beth and I visited Ha Long Bay which translates to descending dragon. The enormous and mystical limestone karsts are thought to be the pearls left by the dragon as it entered into the sea. The legend has it that the dragon helped defeat the Chinese by shooting out the pearls.
They say if you have not seen Ha Long Bay, you have not really seen Vietnam. We do have photos, and I will try top get them uploaded at our next convenience. We stayed over night on the boat and enjoyed hiking, swimming, caving, and kayaking. I highly recomend visiting Ha Long Bay if you are here.
We leave for Hue by aeroplane today. I think I should mention that it is really hot here due to the very high humidity.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

HueHue
Hue

Perfume River
HueHue
Hue

Hue


Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0613s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb