Dong Ha, Vietnam Different Perspectives Newsletter August 27, 2008


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » North Central Coast » Quang Tri » Dong Ha
August 27th 2008
Published: June 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Dong Ha Vietnam


Dear Patrons,

Welcome to our news letter. The Staff at Different Perspectives try to bring a clearer picture of current events effecting China and Asia. Although we believe the international media driven primarily by the western world's interests is bringing the public events as they happen we at Different Perspectives are independent and non biased without an agenda for prestige or monetary profit.

We simply feel the western world may be somewhat isolated from news that is local to our office here in Beijing, China. We hope you enjoy the news from a different perspective.


Wednesday August 27, 2008
Quang Nhai, Vietnam

I got going early enough to have coffee at the local shop and pack before making my way by way of moto-taxi
to the bus station. Today I would embark on a journey north on Rt. 1 along the coast to Dong Ha, Vietnam, in the center of the former DMZ of the Vietnam War.

After the moto driver make a few wrong turns, it was clear that he didn't know where he was going and I didn't know where the bus station was either. Early last evening I attempted to find the bus station, but the information was sketchy at best. So this morning it continued to be sketchy.

The moto bike driver was traveling toward route 1 which is where I wanted to go and new the Rt went north and south but other than that, I had no idea where I was going to end up.

Eventually we approached the ramp that would take us onto Rt 1, and at that point a group of men with their small cargo vans aggressively ordered us to stop. Somewhat of a blockade.

I had heard and read and talked to locals in the area that these men would try to force me to ride in their vans to Dong Ha a 6 hour journey.

As the moto driver seemingly succumbed to the mens orders to stop, I immediately yelled into his ear to continue straight ahead quickly! As the men literally ran after us my moto driver more nervous than me we wist up ramp and onto Rt 1, looking back to see if they would follow.

Within minutes my moto-driver declined to drive any further and dumped me on the side of Rt 1.

Walking up Route 1 a bit I stopped to talk 2 men sitting outside their small home. One man was a parapelegic,
the other his son. He had lost his legs in a war accident in Cambodia.

Friendly and pleasant they both spoke good english and assured me that if I just waited 1 hour maybe 2 the bus to Hanoi would come to take me Dong Ha.

In the meantime it was good conversation. The man and his son invited me into their home to show me pictures of his military career. Humble quiet men I was grateful that after my bad experience on the train ride (see the previous Different Perspectives Newsletter) from Ho Chi Minh City it was good again to meet locals that could help me along.

The sun beating down here in central Vietnam it was hot. Throw in a couple of kids a dog and the local drunk from a cross the street, it made for interesting company as I waited.

I finally boarded a beautiful new air conditioned sleeper bus with only a handful of riders. And they where very nice. I was comfortable, relaxed and moving again. The ride was wonderful. Conversations were pleasant and trusting, even though I introduced myself as am American, I was treated with respect and kindness.

Wednesday Night August 27, 2008
Phung Hoang Hotel Room 422
Dong Ha, Vietnam.

Found my way to a large hotel right on Route 1 after a short scoping out a few less desirable locations. Great hotel room, nice people, clean with internet and T.V. The hotel had coffee and comfortable cool dining area to
lay out my maps and guidebook.

I think I was the only 1 of 3 people at the hotel, so it was nice and quiet. I picked up a nice map at the front desk and the hotel had a large hand made map on the wall detailing the area around the DMZ.. A nice place to start.

Since the bus arrived in Dong Ha in the late afternoon, before long it was evening and time to get some needed sleep.

Thursday August 28, 2008
Phung Hoang Hotel Rm 422
Dong Ha, Vietnam

I slept well last night and am happy with how comfortable and quiet the room is. I woke up fairly congested but
got going early regardless. Made my way to the lobby for coffee and to read my Lonely Planet.

My driver from the previous evening and I discussed my renting his motor bike for a few days but after negociations failed I decided to employ another moto-bike agency that the hotel was nice enough to arrange for me. So far things were going pretty smoothly.

I had a motorbike for $10 USD a day, maps and a new digital camera that I had bought in Quang Nhai.
After a few cups of coffee and a banana I was ready to head out into Central Vietnam, the DMZ Ho Chi Minh Trail and The Khe Sahn Airfield Museum.

Out on the road I found route 9. My first objective to was travel this road eventually reaching Khe Sahn about
60 km west. My plan was to stop at numerous sites. Route 9 saw heavy military activity during America's aggression in the Vietnam War.

My first stop would be 13km away at an intersection turning north in search of a spot that was upppose to be the Ho Chi Minh Trail. After arriving I checked my map tooled around a little on my motorbike off road into the dry dusty landscape.

I took some pictures and met some outback characters. But after accessing i decided that I would look further for the real HCM trail. On my way back to Rt 9 I passed by a young woman on a motor bike who had just spilled
her load.

She was balancing 3, 50 pound bags of I'm guessing rice on her motobike as she struggled to transport them. I helped her load them back on her bike while a group of grade school children looked on curiously in the late morning heat.

After a few moments the woman covered almost completely with cloth to protect her from the sun and dust was slowly on her way. I got some more good pictures. The simplest experiences for me on this 2 1/2 month trip were the most enjoyable.

Regrouping myself to continue I noticed that my new digital camera was malfunctioning. I paniced. How could I continue without a camera? I had to make a bee line to Khe Sahn to try and fix it, or see what my options would be for photo equipment in this part of Vietnam. I was not too optimistic.

Once again I was tooling down Route 9 west to Khe Sahn. It was a beautiful ride through semi green landscape
of rolling hills, and rice paddies. However the geography here gets more mountainous as you move west toward Laos which is said to be 60 mountains.

Once I arrived at Khe Sahn, I did my best in searching for a camera but ended up with none. Reeling with dissapointment that i didn't have a camera, I sucked it up and I decided to go to Tac Con Khe Sahn Airfield anyway.

I concluded that there wasn't much to see and made one more obsessive search for a camera before
I would return to Dong Ha. in reality there was lot to see at the Airfield I just wasn't too interested in exploring the area without a camera.

I started back to Dong Ha about 6:00 PM along Route 9. It was beautiful and peaceful. Very few people here. Only the wilderness and the mountains, valleys and rivers of central Vietnam. After the sun went down the ride became cooler. I was as relaxed as could be.

I stopped and turned southeast to go over a bridge and then headed east along curvy mountain roads, passing signs that indicated the Ho Chi Mihn trail had crossed over this part of the road. I was close to Ho Chi Mihn Trail.

A name I had heard many times as youth in America. Now I was seeing it with my own eyes, on a motor bike after dark alone in the mountains of Vietnam. I felt safe.

I attempted find an American Military Camp by the name of Camp Carol high on a hill south of Route 9 but couldn't find it. The ride up the mountain in the dark was mysterious. I was somewhat uncomfortable, but it was well worth the adventure.

Back down on Route 9 northeast at km 30, I was able to spot a site by the name of "The Rock Pile" since it was a mountain that lacked any foliage. This site was a major lookout post for the US military.

Along the way back to Dong Ha I met a Vietnam woman that recognized me as a foreigner as we rode next to each other and struck up a conversation with me. She invited me to her home to have a cold drink. Feeling a little uncomfortable after a short visit with here and her sister I thought it best to move on.

After parking my moto for the night I went next door for some "famous" Vietnamese chicken soup and headed home to bed. Recorded in my journal a day of mixed experiences and fell to sleep.

Friday August 29, 2008
Phung Hoang Hotel Rm 422
Dong Ha, Vietnam

Got off to an early start. After coffee and internet business I was off to yet another camera store. After about 1/2 hour of struggling with the language, looking at digital and film cameras, I settled for the safer film camera.
Unfortunately it was very expensive. Almost (900,000 reil) $60 USD for a Canon film camera.

I bought 3 rolls of film,extra batteries and I was off yet with another camera. My third camera since I left Beijing
8 weeks earlier. Oh hum.

I decided to go north on Route 1 to the Vien Moc tunnels historic site. I had a beautiful ride along the flat straight route route 1 not far from the coast of Vietnam and the South China Sea.

As I rode along I noticed many graves seemingly on display out in the open between the rice paddies. 1000 of graves with stone monuments of Vietnamese tradition. It was moving thinking about what it must have been like in this area during the war. As 1000's of people lost their lives during the massive US bombing missions.

The tunnels were impressive. As deep as 23 meters, and large enough to house 400 people. Some families lived underground for up to 6 years. I met and talk with one of these woman. It amazed me to what length the Vietnam people went to survive against the US army and to uphold what they believed in.

I got lots of pictures spoke with people who lived underground and totally enjoyed the peace of this monument to the strength of the Vietnam people on the beautiful shores of the South China Sea.

Traveling back to Dong Ha south along the oceans edge I turned my motorbike down a dirt road toward the ocean and the beach. Somewhat risky I manuvered my motorbike across the dunes to the beach, took of my cloths and jumped into the waves of the South China Sea for a swim.

Warm water and beach beyond the description of beautiful, deserted for miles in each direction. I was in heaven.

Again I made my way back toward Dong Ha, but not before stopping a lookout that happened to have a concrete gunner bunker used during the war to defend the coast against he Americans. This area was heavily bombed and to this day there are many ruins evident.

I met three men here who described the concrete bunker to me, I told them I was American. All 3 were former Vietcong soldiers. I was a little surprised when they refused to let me take their picture. I must confess I got when from a distance as they walked away.

After this my last encounter worth mentioning was I stopped for a drink, and started chatting with a man and his wife. They were not too talkative, or friendly. I didn't think anything of it until a young Vietnam woman that I had met earlier at the Vien Doc site, rode by and noticed me trying to get a conversation going with this man and his wife.

She stopped her bike and asked me or strongly suggested that it was getting dark and I "should" probably get myself back to Dong Ha. I asked her why the concern I had plenty of gas and knew the roads. At which point she look me in the eye and again suggested I be on my way now!

So my mind started processing, maybe the men earlier who didn't want their picture taken and this man and his wife unwilling to talk to me, where trying to tell me something. Was this woman I met earlier at Vien Moc trying to tell me something too? I finally thought it best to move on.

The ride back to Dong Ha was safe, ending again with famous Vietnam Chicken Soup.

Saturday August 30, 2008
Phung Hoang Hotel Rm 422
Dong Ha, Vietnam

Firing up the motorbike I headed around town looking for a Vietnam flag. After a few failed language encounters I gave up. Now that I had a camera I decided to gallop out to Khe Sahn once again and get on with the day.

On my way I stopped for a cold drink, talked to a nice gentleman who happened to be a South Vietnam Army veteran and helped me buy a flag. Mission accomplished.

Flag in tow I searched for Camp Carol and again to no avail. Once in Khe Sahn I stalked up on camera film and took a couple pictures with the camera store clerks who yesterday spent time helping me find a camera.

Then it was off to Tac Con Khe Sahn Airfield Memorial, to get the pictures I had hoped to get yesterday. I spent about 1 1/2 hours at the airfield, taking pictures, exploring and imagening what it was like here in 1969. This was one of the most devastating defeats for the US military in the war. A bitter defeat.

I walked the airfield runway mounded with bomb craters and overgrown. From the dirt I dug out an old Vietcong army uniform. An amazing experience and now I had pictures.

Pictures in had I stopped at the Liberation Monument snapped a few, found some gas, and filled up before departing for the map identified Ho Chi Mihn Trail. just south of Khe Sahn.

About noontime I was on a 1 lane narrow paved path in the forest, that I am told is the HCM trail. I was finally on it. Shortly I came to a crossroad, had no idea which way to go so I thought it a good chance to take a break and rest with a family of local hill people.

I did know by my map which town was at the other end of the HCM trail. So i could just point to it and ask which way?

A small bite to eat offered by the locals and a drink I took lots of pics with I'm guessing a group of 20 some people, woman and children. Seemingly passing the day away. I was offered as always in SE Asia to join them.
I was again astonished at how lucky I am to be having this amazing experience.

The trail was paved for the next 8-10 km. Then it turned to a dirt road and it got progressively worse. I had a full talk of gas that made me feel comfortable. I wouldn't be able to get any more gas today and I had a least
60 km back to my hotel in Dong Ha. The further I went on this trail the more nervous I became.

I rode the trail along the VN and Laos border, the mountains steeper and more beautiful. The simplicity of the mountain tribes existence was completely foreign to me. I met numerous mountain tribes on the trail. Hot with
little flat land to grow crops there wasn't much activity in the communities.

Woman carrying firewood for cooking on there backs. At on point I packed 2 woman and their piles of wood on my bike with me and transported them a couple miles. They had many miles to walk with full loads on their backs.

Groups of 10-12 children all under the age of 5 would come out to see me as I motorbike it the village. Many without shoes or cloths on. The adults would stay inside out of the oppressive jungle heat.

As i road along I was starting to feel the heat. I was tired, and my cough that i picked up in HCMC wasn't improving. Although I had plenty of water, the climate was very hot and dry.

i was somewhat nervous navigating over the rocky, bumped gravel trail. A wide trail at some points but a trail just as well. A motor bike definetely necessary.

Further southeast the trail was more jungle like, which gave my mind the opportunity to wander, and imagine
wild animals jumping out of the woods. I had read that some parts of Laos/Vietnam had big Cats and Bears. Who knows what else, snake probably.

Shortly I encountered some construction and a paving crew. Apparently they are paving some of the trail to i imagine to assist the tribe people in transporting food and supplies in and out of the tiny villages.

Further on about 20 km I knew I was getting close to the Laos border, but I didn't expect to visit a border crossing. After I panicked and tried to avoid a confrontation the Vietnam Border guard detained me. I was nervous. What was I to do.

It was the first time I was ever physically detailed. One guard held on to my motorbike as I tried to get away while another guard ran over to help. I was scared I panicked.

After a very uncomfortable encounter with lots of questions and interrogation, the head guard went to discuss the situation with his superior in the border crossing office. After a moment, I heard the border official say "Let him go", at which point the guard came said I could go and wished me a good day. Wheww! That was nerve wracking.

18 km to go to get back to the Dong Ha highway. I was not calm after my border crossing encounter. Later i encounter another hill tribe family. 4 grown woman with at least 2 babies and 1 man, and 2 younger adolecent children.

The older woman was smoking a pipe, her teeth black with tar. Not sure if it was tobacco or opium, or just weeds. The other 2 woman making rice by smashing it in a big bowl so the shells come off, a cigarette hanging out of her mouth. An awsume picture taking opportunity and yet another incredible experience.

The tribe not knowing what to think of me or I of them, I had a number of these experiences throughout the afternoon on the HCM Trail.

After more km of dense jungle trail i came to a river crossing which at first seemed un-crossable, but seconds later I was across. Within minutes I was riding across a concrete aqueduct and up a narrow dirt path into a very small village adjacent to and intersection of major roadways.

I was finally in Lyton and back at Route 12. The road that would take me back to my hotel in Dong Ha. I was home free. The HCM Trail behind me I could relax for a few minutes with a cold drink.

As I sat and rested a group of local residents where watching me curiously. Where had I come from? Where was I going, and why was I here? It was OK they were just curious. I would be moving on shortly. In the distance across the street and up the hill I could see and hear a load speaker playing the Vietnam Government's tunes and stories for the day.

I could breath normally again. For the first time in 4-5 hours I was sure of the way back to Dong Ha and my hotel! Time to chat with the locals change into my contact lenses and regroup mentally.

15 minutes later i was on Rt 12 north for the 29 km ride to Dakrong and then on to Da Hong. Dark as can be the road winded along the valley of a river to my left and the mountains to my right.

A good road with a white centerline and emergency lanes of 4 feet on either side. I had only keep my strength enjoy the cooler temperatures of the river valley avoid oncoming traffic and enjoy the peace of the Vietnam countryside and the sunset as it slowly dissapearred behind the Laos mountains to the west. It was beautiful.

After about an hour I approached the bridge into Dakrong. It was a pleasant site. This was the intersection with Rt 9 east/west that i was familiar with since i took this route west to Kae sahn earlier in the day. It wasd the first familiar point that i had seen since i left Kae Sohn 6 hours earlier. One local looked at me as I crossed the bridge with a perplexed expression.

Turing east and 5 km later i was topping off my the 25 km ride to Dong Ha. Back on the road again, dark as can be it was on of the most beautiful starred nights I had ever seen, pausing with the motor off from time in awe of the stillness and quiet.

In the distance villages I could hear families talking eating and enjoying the evening together. The heat reason enough to live in open air houses, allowing the sound to travel uninterrupted through the quiet night. Another memory I'll cherish for a lifetime.

A safe ride back to Dong ha, i stopped for food and water before retiring to my hotel room exhausted. So this is being written the following morning Sunday August 30. A wonderful day in Vietnam I was tired and feeling somewhat uneasy and not feeling well. I didn't have the band width to think but only sleep after 150 km motorbike journey through the mountains of Vietnam and Laos.

Sunday August 31, 2008
Phung Hoang Hotel Rm 422
Dong Ha, Vietnam

After finishing my journal for yesterday, during many 3 in 1 caffe, I decided to stay in the comfort of the hotel lobby today and take the 6:30 PM sleeper bus to Hanoi. I think a good decision. I need to stop moving for a day and recover mentally, physically and most of all spiritually.

At 6:30 PM just up the street from the hotel at the intersection of Rt 1 and Rt 9 west I boarded the air conditioned sleeper bus to Hanoi. Very comfortable, and pretty quiet. The sleeper buses were turning out to be a comfortable way to travel in Vietnam.

But my patience is "very limited" especially with the cigarette smokers. Cheap enough ride and clean I'm on my way to my last destination of this 2 1/2 month journey, the city of Hanoi and the capital of Vietnam.

Monday September 1, 2008
Cuu Cong Hotel room 106
Hanoi, Vietnam

Without much sleep the bus arrives in Hanoi about 7:00 AM A challenge in trying my patience I navigate away from the tuk tuk and make it to my hotel room. After negociating a decent hotel price I settle into my last accommodations in S.S Asia. $25.00 is the best I can do a bit expensive but I was in Hanoi.

I settle in with a shower and a nap then to the streets about 1:00 PM for coffee and orientation. I meet a nice woman and spend the afternoon chatting and checking in with the internet next door, and made my 2nd mistake, minor at threat but still a mistake. I lost my prescription sunglasses.

Through 2 months of the country side of Myanmar, the city of Mandalay, Yangon, Bangkok, and Phnon Penh and the mountains of Laos I had finally lost my trusted sunglasses. At the internet cafe I check in with e-mail and recharge my ipod then go around the corner back to my hotel to journal and another nap until evening.

Enjoyed dinner with my friend Thom a 48 year old Vietnamese woman who spoke good english and had a sister in San Diego and 2 brothers in HCMC. She is alone, her parents killed in the war. She had many scares some on her face covered by her hair as it draped across her forehead and cheeks.

We talked about the bombing and how she escaped from her family house as her parents lay dying on the floor behind her. She showed me more scares on her legs where the shrapnel hat hit her.

W had dinner in what felt like a private dining room on the second floor of a building. Giant shrimp to start with
was followed by crab and finally giant snails, (my favorite). Overall delicious and a good experience, but expensive. After 9 weeks on the road eating "rations" where ever I could find food, I think I overdosed on chorlesterol from this seafood dinner!

Earlier in the day I was lucky enough to witness a pre-wedding ceremony. Beautifully dressed Vietnamese woman and handsome men and all extremely friendly people. The family actually invited me to "break bread" with them as celebrated with their children as their children approach a rite of passage. They invited me to be included.

I was again overwhelmed by the experiences that have sort of been just happening for me naturally throughout this journey. I sat in wonder and awe again.

That night i didn't sleep well, but turned the air conditioning off which seemed to help my cough. Since the time I visited the Viet Doc tunnels outside of Dong Ha 150 miles south of Hanoi about 5 days earlier my cough and upper respiratory congestion was quickly getting worse. Simply put I was getting sick. Moderately sick.

I decided that it would be a good idea to plan ahead a little since my Vietnam Visa was to expire on Friday and my health was in question. I questioned what I could have picked up as I travelled overland in buses trains, motorbikes and dozens of hotel rooms through 6 countries in 90 days. I was getting a little nervous.

I check into flights and the clerk at the hotel front desk said I could fly to Beijing on Wednesday for 400$ USD. eeek! I decided to book it. Feeling tired and sick it had been an amazing journey. I was ready to home to Beijing.


Tuesday September 2, 2008
Cuu Cong Hotel room 106
Hanoi, Vietnam

My last full in Vietnam and my last day in SE Asia. I'm in and out of serenity and know that I need to go home, and for the first time in over 2 1/2 months my travel plans are not an adventure.

Tomorrow morning I'll fly to Beijing and be home. But today I will visit some sites in Hanoi and enjoy the people.
Yesterday afternoon after making my flight arrangements and having coffee with Thom and her sister and having some (fresh squeezed juice) I hit the internet for about an hour, then I was off on a moto taxi for the Ho Chi Minh Memorial. It was hot and i was tired.

But got to the mauseleum and met Colin from Dublin, Ireland and 2 woman from England. The mauseleum was incredible. The massive crowds jamming the memorial grounds on this September 2, the 50 anniversary of the liberation of Vietnam and the death of Uncle Ho. The sites where incredible. Thousands of Vietnam families enjoying the holiday.

See Ho Chi Minh body in holding ing th mauseleum was enjoyable. The route that the guards directed you went entirely around the body which gives you a full 270 degree look at Ho. Mao Tse Tung auseleum in Beijing the guards direct you down one side only of the body then you go out the exit. So you don't get the full 270 degree view.

After the comfort of the air conditioned mauseleum it was back to the plaza heat for some pictures. Coffe with Colin was suggested but he needed tot pick up his bag back a the check and our iteniry didn't jive.

I sat down under a palm tree with a few Vietnam local families and had a great time interacting wiht the kids and parents for about an hour. Another incredible experience, I was the only westerner in this group of dozens of Vietnamese families and they invited me to sit and pick-nick with them.

I got some great pictures and made a lot of quick friends. Another amazing time and in a long line of pleasant experiences for me in SE Asia.

From then I visited the grounds of Ho Chi Minh House and his study, and his car collection. Well worth the visit his bungalow built of teak wood raised off the ground.

Across the memorial plaza again I visited the Ho chi Minh Museum. 10 reil for foreigners, frre for vietnamese. I was lucky the clerks put up with me for by this time i was getting sicker and my patience running quite thin. I was pacifated with a beautiful english speaking vietnamese woman for guide.

The museum was beautiful, modern and very peaceful. The museum traced the history of Ho Chi Minhs' personal and political life as well as his appreciation for modern Art, many works of sculpture in an environment seemingly reflecting the many years struggle for the revolution. A very peaceful place.

I found the Vietnam historical attractions to be very accommodating for english speaking visitors especially Americans. I was impressed and honored with the respect I received as an American traveling in Vietnam.

I met 2 woman at the museum, one from Malaysia and one from Hanoi. They helped me to get some antibiotics for my cough. But now 15 hours later I am still coughing terribly. My health is worrying me. I'm not familiar with this cough.


Wednesday September 3, 2008
Cuu Cong Hotel room 106
Hanoi, Vietnam

5am my taxi is waiting to take me to the airport as I leave the hotel into the heat and grey light of the Hanoi morning. My ride to the airport, not pleasant since I was up most of the night, coughing and struggling to breath. Besides the constant oppressive heat and the air conditioning although working fine in my room bothering my lungs so I turned it off.

I had very little patience with the taxi driver as we rode the 30 km to Hanoi Airport for my flight back into China. I'm sure he was glad to get rid of me.

Once aboard the plane I felt better since I was anxious to get home and take care of my health. Any step in that direction made me feel better mentally.

Immediately I had someone to practice my mandarin with which I really missed after 9 weeks away from China.
It's so nice to be able to speak the language. Vietnam was difficult for me with the language.

The countries heat, noise and pollution had caught up with me through the 9 weeks I was gone. I was sick.

The trip was incredible fro my adventures throughout 1 month in Myanmar (see my Myanmar blogs here on Travel blog) Bagan Py oo lyn, Yangon an Mandalay, to Chaing Kong Thailand, Vientiane, Laos and 12 days in Phnom Penh (see all my blogs here authored by myself "rossi92353". Vietnam was difficult but the HCM Trail amazing, save the heat and my lungs ailing. Then the train incident to Quiang Nai, but I saw My Lai.

Then friends help me get a good bus to Dong Ha for my excellent stay in the DMZ, visiting Vie Moc tunnels, Khe San, Ho Chi Minh Trail and the Lao/Vietnam border, unexpectedly. The mountain people and my ride into the sunset on my ride back from the trail.

Great accommodations in Dong Ha a swim in the South China Sea lots of history, people and nature, mountains and beach all recorded here on travel blog.

I think I will let my mind process where I have been and what I have done over the past 9 weeks. For i am tied and not feeling well. My next stop Beijing International Airport and home.

Wednesday September 10, 2008
Beijing, China

i have been back in Beijing for a 1 week now. Without hesitation when I arrived after settling in I made a trip to see the doctor at the Vista Clinic. He prescribed me an antibiotic, and cough syrup. He mentioned pnhemonia, which I had never had before.

Since that day I finally feel like my health has improved a bit. Looking back now 1 year later as i publish this to the network it took me over 6 months to recover my health. In the meantime aquiring a case of "the shingles"!

I really did pick something up in SE Asia that through my system for a loop. I was lucking it wasn't more serious.

More odds and ends at home here in Beijing, thinking about my future in China and preparing to write which has turned out to be 32 blogs with over 1000 pictures and video entered into travel blog for my travels in SE Asia.

Please visit travelblog.org often so I may share through with you through Different Perspectives Newsletter my travels in Asia.

Next time on Different Perspectives Newsletter join us as we travel to Tibet, China and Pyongyang, North Korea.

Until then……. “Those who accept that we all die someday settle their quarrels.” From The Book Dhammapada. A gift given to me in Mandalay, Myanmar by my friend Hnin Hnin Yu

qing man zou
peace always

Edward
Different Perspectives
Beijing, China


Additional photos below
Photos: 301, Displayed: 44


Advertisement



Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0788s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb