Helping vulnerable children in Vietnam (part 2)


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Mekong River Delta » Can Tho
June 22nd 2023
Published: June 22nd 2023
Edit Blog Post

Bao (5 years old) in his village - Can Tho, the Mekong DeltaBao (5 years old) in his village - Can Tho, the Mekong DeltaBao (5 years old) in his village - Can Tho, the Mekong Delta

Vinh (13 years old) was at school and I couldn't see him until 4:30pm. His brother Bao showed me around the village. (Vinh đi học đến 4:30 chiều nên tôi không thể gặp bé. Bảo, em trai của Vinh, 5 tuổi, dẫn tôi thăm quan dọc con đường làng)
9 May 2023 - I travelled on a day trip to Can Tho City to visit Vinh (13 years old) and his brother Bao (5 years old). I have been sponsoring them and teaching Vinh English since October 2021 after their father died of Covid-19. My friends donated them some money at that time and before this trip my cousin in Hanoi called her friends for donations. We received some cash, English books, toys and clothes which were second hand but still of good quality.

I flew to Can Tho City on Vietjet Air in the morning and took the latest flight before midnight on Bamboo Airways to go back to Hanoi, so I had a half day with their family. When my plane was going to land, I saw an amazing view of the Mekong Delta with winding rivers, canals, green farms and houses. Can Tho is the largest city in the Mekong Delta. The last time I was in this city was in September 2009 on my tour to the southernmost part of the country. There was no way I could ever imagine I would go back there one day because of two orphans.

The taxi driver
Donated books and toys in my bags at Can Tho AirportDonated books and toys in my bags at Can Tho AirportDonated books and toys in my bags at Can Tho Airport

I carried 25kg of English books, toys, clothes and stationary for the boys. (Tôi mang theo 25kg quà tặng của mọi người gồm sách tiếng Anh, đồ chơi, quần áo, văn phòng phẩm tặng cho 2 bé)
was confused about the location when I showed him the address where I wanted to arrive. He took me through the district, then commune and asked his friends and locals on the way for help. It was a long way, 25km, and it took us 45 minutes to get there. The further we travelled, the more I was concerned about how to find a taxi to go back to the airport at the end of the day as it seemed isolated. I called Vinh’s auntie and met her after we travelled over a series of small steel bridges as we journeyed to their home. She eased my concern about being able to get back to the airport by telling me that she could arrange a taxi for me. I paid the driver and got on a motorbike with my bags. The lady who rode the bike was someone living in the same village. She dropped me off at Vinh’s house and I saw Bao sleeping on a hammock while his grandmother was sitting on another hammock at the door. The smell of pigs next to the house and the heat were unpleasant. I stood in front of the fan that
Vinh and Bao in a video clip to thank the donorsVinh and Bao in a video clip to thank the donorsVinh and Bao in a video clip to thank the donors

The boys were standing in their house and thanked the donors. (Vinh và Bảo trong video cảm ơn các nhà tài trợ)
was on the wall and waited until Vinh’s auntie was back. She only has one eye and takes care of Vinh, Bao and her parents who are in their 70s. She chopped a coconut and gave me the juice then went to cook chicken porridge to entertain me.

Vinh was at school in the afternoon so I couldn’t see him until 4:30pm. Bao woke up and I gave him all the toys and chocolate. He was especially interested in assembling Lego. He kept a distance with me at first as I was a stranger but later he became more friendly. I wanted to see the surrounding area so he showed me around. I put cream over my arms and feet and also wore a mosquito band to avoid mosquito and insect bites. There was only one walkway passing by the houses. We turned right and started walking along the village road, however, a big dog appeared so we couldn’t go further and turned around and went in the other direction. Soon we saw a little concrete bridge over a stream leading to a house. It reminded me of “the Monkey Bridges” which are famous in the Mekong Delta. They
A simple bridge leading to a houseA simple bridge leading to a houseA simple bridge leading to a house

The locals made a simple concrete bridge to their house. The Mekong Delta is famous for "the Monkey Bridges" which are made from bamboo. (Một cây cầu nhỏ bằng bê tông dẫn vào một nhà dân)
are made of bamboo and it’s very difficult to walk on them as they are very thin. It was going to rain so Bao ran back home to collect some toys that were out in the sun for drying. We went back to the road and it started raining so we hid under the roof of a patio of a house. The owner was very nice, like everyone I met that day. People were curious why someone with a northern accent went to their village. Vinh’s auntie told them how I found the kids. How amazing it is! There were so many children in Vietnam and I chose them.

Vinh was back home at 4:30pm. The boy walked toward me with his arms crossed in front of the chest, bended and said hello. He then gave me a hug. At age 13, Vinh was so slim and small due to the lack of nutrition. Sadly, they have to live in a very poor condition. The mother is now the main bread winner and she works in another province. Vinh and his brother have been living with their auntie since they were born.

We ate rice porridge together then
Bao and his new toysBao and his new toysBao and his new toys

Toys, clothes and books donated by my cousin's friends in Hanoi (Đồ chơi, sách và quần áo do các bạn của em họ tôi ở Hà Nội ủng hộ)
I showed Vinh some English books. I also gave him an English – English dictionary which I had had since I was a student. Vinh is a very diligent student even though he is slow, and he is the only child that I am still teaching English. The other five kids in other provinces have given up learning English as they were not determined enough.

After spending a couple of hours with Vinh, it was time I had to say goodbye and go back to the airport for my flight back home. We walked along the village road in the darkness. People from houses saw us and said goodbye to me. It was a wonderful day in my life seeing the countryside and meeting new people and I felt they were so close to me like my family. Vinh gave me another hug before I got into a taxi. I hope someday he will go to Hanoi and see me again there. For the time being, I will continue to support him and his brother.

Link to Part 1

Helping vulnerable children in Vietnam (part 1)

Cần Thơ (ngày 9 tháng 5 năm 2023)

Tôi bay vào Cần Thơ thăm
Drying wet toys in the sun in front of the houseDrying wet toys in the sun in front of the houseDrying wet toys in the sun in front of the house

Some of the old toys were wet and put into a box when I brought them to Can Tho. Bao placed them in the sun for drying. (Đồ chơi cũ bên trong một hộp sắt còn ướt vì mới chỉ rửa sạch cho kịp trước lúc tôi lên đường đi Cần Thơ. Gia Bảo phơi đồ chơi trước cửa nhà)
Vinh (13 tuổi, học lớp 7) và Gia Bảo (5 tuổi) là hai cháu bé mà tôi đã bảo trợ từ tháng 10 năm 2021 sau khi cha của hai bé qua đời vì Covid. Khi đó, các bạn của tôi quyên góp tiền giúp đỡ và tôi vẫn tiếp tục hỗ trợ các bé hàng tháng kể từ đó. Trước chuyến đi này, em họ của tôi ở Hà Nội kêu gọi các bạn ủng hộ sách vở và đồ chơi cho các bé. Chúng tôi nhận được tiền mặt, sách tiếng Anh, truyện tranh và quần áo cũ tặng các bé.

Tôi bay đi Cần Thơ vào chuyến sáng cùng hãng hàng không Vietjet Air và bay về Hà Nội vào chuyến muộn nhất trong ngày cùng Bamboo Airways, nên mãi nửa đêm mới về đến nhà. Giá vé máy bay là 3 triệu đồng. Khi máy bay chuẩn bị hạ cánh, tôi nhìn qua cửa sổ và thấy khung cảnh tuyệt đẹp của vùng Đồng bằng sông Cửu Long với những con sông và kênh rạch uốn lượn. nhà cửa và vườn cây xanh mướt. Lần trước tôi đến đây là vào tháng 9 năm 2009 trong tour thăm mũi Cà Mau. Khi đó tôi không thể hình dung được là 14 năm sau tôi sẽ quay trở lại đây vì hai đứa trẻ mồ côi cha.

Ông lái xe taxi không biết đường nên ông chở tôi đi theo đúng trình tự từ thành phố xuống huyện Phong Điền, sau đó là xã Tân Thới và ấp Tân Lợi. Dọc đường đi, ông phải gọi điện thoại hỏi bạn hoặc chạy xuống hỏi người dân địa phương nên 25km mà đi mất 45 phút. Tôi cảm thấy đường đi rất xa. Càng đi thì tôi càng lo ở nơi heo hút thế này thì làm sao mà tôi có thể gọi taxi để tối nay quay lại sân bay được. Sau khi đi qua mấy cây cầu sắt nhỏ thì tôi nhìn thấy dì Tư của Vinh ở đầu cầu đang chờ tôi. Lái xe taxi tính phí 440.000 đồng. Dì Tư bảo tôi an tâm sẽ gọi được taxi tối nay. Tôi leo lên xe máy cùng một chiếc túi to của mình và một cô chở tôi đi dọc con đường làng để vào nhà Vinh. Bà ngoại của Vinh ngồi trên chiếc võng nhỏ trước cửa, trong khi Gia Bảo đang ngủ trưa trên chiếc võng trong nhà. Trời nóng và mùi hôi của chuồng heo kề bên nhà rất khó chịu. Tôi đứng trước quạt cho mát và chờ đến khi dì Tư về nhà. Dì Tư chăm hai anh em từ khi lọt lòng. Cô chỉ có một mắt và phải chăm sóc cả hai ông bà ngoại ở tuổi 70 của hai anh em. Dì Tư chặt quả dừa mời tôi uống nước, rồi xuống bếp nấu món cháo gà để thết đãi tôi.

Vinh đi học cả buổi chiều nên tôi không thể gặp bé cho đến 4 giờ rưỡi chiều. Gia Bảo thức dậy và tôi đưa cho bé đồ chơi và kẹo sô cô la. Cậu bé đặc biệt thích lắp ráp Lego. Lúc đầu cậu bé giữ khoảng cách với tôi vì là người lạ, nhưng sau đó khi quen rồi thì cu cậu bắt đầu nói líu lo. Tôi muốn đi xem khu vực quanh nhà nên Gia Bảo dẫn tôi đi thăm quan. Chỉ có một con đường đất chạy ngang qua các ngôi nhà. Chúng tôi rẽ phải và đi
Vinh and Bao's houseVinh and Bao's houseVinh and Bao's house

It was going to rain soon. Bao and his grandmother collected the toys that were already dry. (Trời sắp mưa. Gia Bảo và ngoại mang đồ chơi đã khô vào nhà)
dọc theo con đường nhưng chỉ được một đoạn thì dừng lại vì một con chó to xuất hiện. Chúng tôi quay lại và đi tiếp con đường về hướng bên trái nhà. Tôi đã xoa kem lên tay và bàn chân cũng như đeo vòng chống muỗi và côn trùng nên tạm ổn. Chúng tôi nhìn thấy một cây cầu bê tông nhỏ xíu bắc qua kênh nước dẫn vào một ngôi nhà. Nó gợi cho tôi nhớ đến cầu khỉ. Trời sắp mưa nên Gia Bảo chạy nhanh về nhà để cất đồ chơi đang phơi khô trước lối vào nhà. Cu cậu cứ thắc mắc là sao tôi đi chậm thế vì tôi vừa đi vừa chụp hình đủ mọi thứ mới lạ. Chúng tôi quay trở lại con đường làng nhưng đi được một đoạn thì trời bắt đầu mưa. Tôi ghé vào một ngôi nhà và đứng trú mưa dưới hiên trước sân nhà một cô trong xóm. Cô rất thân thiện, cũng như tất cả mọi người tôi gặp ngày hôm đó. Mọi người thắc mắc tại sao một cô nói giọng bắc lại xuất hiện ở đây và dì Tư giải thích câu
The village roadThe village roadThe village road

Bao showed me around the village. We walked along the village road. He was standing outside a house with an altar. (Gia Bảo dẫn tôi đi dọc con đường làng. Cậu bé đang đứng trước một ngôi nhà có bàn thờ nhỏ ngoài sân)
chuyện tại sao tôi tìm thấy Vinh. Thật kì lạ là có biết bao nhiêu đứa trẻ ở Việt Nam mà tôi lại chọn đúng hai bé này để bảo trợ.

Vinh trở về nhà vào lúc 4:30. Cậu bé bước về phía tôi, khoanh tay cúi chào và ôm tôi. Ở tuổi 13, Vinh bé nhỏ và gầy gò, chỉ cao ngang ngực tôi. Cậu bé có nụ cười duyên với chiếc răng khểnh. Dì Tư nói Vinh ăn ít và ngủ ít nên tôi nghĩ bé bị thiếu chất. Thật buồn khi thấy hai anh em lớn lên trong hoàn cảnh này. Mẹ của hai bé giờ là trụ cột gia đình và đi làm xa ở tỉnh khác, với mức lương công nhân cũng không nhiều để gánh trên lưng 5 người.

Chúng tôi ăn cháo gà cùng nhau. Sau đó, tôi đưa cho Vinh những quyển sách tiếng Anh và giải thích một chút cho bé hiểu. Tôi tặng bé quyển từ điển Anh – Anh mà tôi còn giữ từ hồi sinh viên. Vinh là đứa trẻ ngoan và chăm chỉ học, mặc dù còn chậm. Giờ đây Vinh cũng là đứa trẻ
A little pond next to a houseA little pond next to a houseA little pond next to a house

It was raining and we were hiding under the roof of a patio of a house in the village. (Trời đang mưa. Tôi cùng Gia Bảo và bà dì trú mưa bên ngoài hiên một ngôi nhà trong làng)
duy nhất mà tôi còn dạy tiếng Anh. Năm bạn khác ở các tỉnh khác đều đã bỏ cuộc vì không đủ quyết tâm và chăm chỉ.

Sau khi dành 2 tiếng đồng hồ với Vinh, tôi phải chào tạm biệt mọi người để ra sân bay. Cả nhà tiễn tôi ra đường lớn và chúng tôi đi bộ trong bóng tối trên con đường làng. Mọi người trong các ngôi nhà nhìn thấy chúng tôi thì nói lời chào tạm biệt. Tôi đã có một ngày tuyệt vời, được nhìn thấy phong cảnh thôn quê và gặp gỡ những người mới lạ mà tôi cảm thấy thân thiết như gia đình. Vinh ôm tạm biệt tôi trước khi tôi lên xe. Hy vọng là một ngày nào đó Vinh sẽ ra Hà Nội thăm tôi. Còn hiện giờ thì tôi vẫn sẽ tiếp tục giúp đỡ hai anh em như tôi vẫn làm suốt gần 2 năm qua.

Phần 1 của câu chuyện:

Helping vulnerable children in Vietnam (part 1)


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Bao and a new toyBao and a new toy
Bao and a new toy

Bao received lots of toys but he liked Lego the best. (Bảo nhận được rất nhiều đồ chơi nhưng cu cậu thích nhất là xếp hình Lego)
Chicken rice porridge (Cháo gà)Chicken rice porridge (Cháo gà)
Chicken rice porridge (Cháo gà)

Vinh and Bao's antie prepared luch to entertain me. She cooked chicken rice porridge. The organic chicken was very delicious. (Dì Tư nấu món cháo gà thết đãi tôi)
Vinh's house Vinh's house
Vinh's house

This metal house was built thanks to the donors around the country in November 2021. It's very hot during the dry season. On the left side there was a pig pen. On the right side there was a part of the old house. (Ngôi nhà tình thương bằng tôn của các nhà hảo tâm khắp Việt Nam tặng cho gia đình xây tháng 11/2021. Mái cũng bằng tôn nên rất nóng. Bên trái nhà là chuồng heo. Bên phải nhà là một phần của ngôi nhà lá trước đây)
Aerial view before landing at Can Tho AirportAerial view before landing at Can Tho Airport
Aerial view before landing at Can Tho Airport

I flew to Can Tho City on Jet Star in the morning and flew back to Hanoi on Bamboo Airways in the evening. (Phong cảnh nhìn từ trên máy bay trước khi hạ cánh xuống sân bay Cần Thơ)
Inside Can Tho International AirportInside Can Tho International Airport
Inside Can Tho International Airport

I just arrived at the airport and was going to find a taxi. (Tôi vừa đến sân bay và chuẩn bị đi taxi đến nhà 2 bé)
Can Tho International AirportCan Tho International Airport
Can Tho International Airport

Can Tho is the largest city in the Mekong Delta.


Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0241s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb