Đà Lạt


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Central Highlands
December 28th 2013
Published: April 19th 2020
Edit Blog Post

Panoramic view of Xuan Huong Lake

Da lat is underrated in terms of popularity amongst tourists. I can't say enough nice things about Da Lat. Locals are friendly and kind. The effects of tourism has not affected the locals yet...Locals are intrigue by foreigners and would jump at the chance to take a picture with one. The hospitality is exceptional. This beautiful city sits atop the mountains that surrounds central Vietnam. The regions outside of Da Lat are worth exploring on motorbikes. Da Lat has a touch of French Colonialism in its architecture and is known to locals as the "City of Flowers." I was fortunate to have visited during their biannual Flower Festival. The Flower Festival was a great display of harmony between human and nature. Vietnamese throughout the regions religiously attend this event. On a Saturday night you can join locals for a couple of beers, which they would gladly pay for. Da Lat is like a girl who had just begun dating and has not been soiled by the few assholes that she will eventually encounters.

I arrived in Da Lat during the Flower Festival. It was difficult finding affordable accommodations during this time of year. I walked around a bit, hoping to find something within my price range. Da Lat has a lot of hills, so after walking around for an hour or so,I decided to bite the bullet and spend $10 USD for a night. This may not seem like a lot back home, but on a backpacker budget, that is a lot. I spent about a night or two at this overpriced guesthouse until I found something cheaper online. As I was making my way to my new hostel, I ran into a local in the alley. He was trying to talk to me, after a couple of months of traveling through SEA I became paranoid when people on the streets are trying to get my attention. So, I ignored him and kept walking. Once I reached Enjoy Da Lat Hostel, I found out that he was the owner it. Funny how things turn out.

Local Foods:

Bánh căn



Banh Can is similar to Pancakes. The batter is cooked in a griddle with an option of quail egg or duck egg as filling. It is served with fish sauce.


Additional photos below
Photos: 54, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Fellow TravelerFellow Traveler
Fellow Traveler

I met this fellow traveler at Enjoy Da Lat Hostel. He was traveling through Vietnam on a motorbike.


Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0174s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb