Weekend away in Buon Ma Thout and Pleiku


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Central Highlands » Dak Lak » Buon Ma Thuot
August 26th 2007
Published: August 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Monkey MountainMonkey MountainMonkey Mountain

I love this beach at Monkey Mountain - of course went out with Uyen on motor bike
Well, I am finally up to date with my journal - I hope.
On Friday 24th August after going out to Home of Affection I caught a bus over to DaNang. These buses are quite interesting to travel on. You start off with the correct passengers for the number of seats, and you set off at the designated time - BUT, then you turn around several times to pick up more stragglers along the way and instead of a few passengers you are packed in quite tightly. Uyen picked me up and went out to one of my favourite places out of DaNang - Monkey Mountain. Was a glorious day but didn't have too long as went home to Uyen's place for a quick bite before I had to get my plane. The plan was to go and see Linda in Buon Ma Thout. After checking that she was going to be there I booked to go. Just as I was leaving DaNang she phoned to say she was in DaNang so I am not meant to see her this trip. Had a good flight to Buon Ma Thout and went to hotel and just had a little wander around
Monkey Mountain againMonkey Mountain againMonkey Mountain again

Brought back memories of last year when Ros and I went out to Monkey Mountain - out of DaNang
the nearby streets before having an early night.
Saturday morning, Mui (my guide last year) came and picked me up and took me to his coffee shop - I was interested to see the shop as he was still building it when I visited there last year. He rang Lam, my motor bike rider from last year and he came and had coffee with us but had to leave after a short time but it was nice to see him and it was a surprise for them both to see me. Stayed for lunch and then Mui took me to the bus station to make the trip of 200 kms to Pleiku. This was unplanned but no planes leaving BMT on Sunday. Was a lovely drive through rubber plantations and many small villages but seemed to be a poor area as houses were mainly built of timber.
It was raining for the last several miles and one noticed the drop in the temperature. There was a sad moment as I saw a young motor bike rider killed as I was coming from the bus station to the hotel. It is certainly a wonder we don't see more accidents with the
Buon Ma ThoutBuon Ma ThoutBuon Ma Thout

One of the statues at Buon Ma Thout
amount of traffic on the roads/alleys over here.
Had another early night after looking for a coffee shop.
This morning (Sunday 26th August) went for a 7kms ride out to Bien Ho (Sea Lake) - it is a pleasant picnic spot but of course I didn't have time as it was time to go out to the Pleiku Airport. Had a good flight back to DaNang and of course, Uyen was there to meet me, go for coffee before putting me on the bus back to Tam Ky.
So was a busy, yet enjoyable weekend. Now only a couple more days in Tam Ky before I set off again.
Hope everyone who reads this are well. Bye for now


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

On way from Buon Ma Thout to PleikuOn way from Buon Ma Thout to Pleiku
On way from Buon Ma Thout to Pleiku

Was a very picturesque drive from Buon Ma Thout to Pleiku but through quite poor villages - lots of rubber trees
PleikuPleiku
Pleiku

Bien Ho or Sea Lake 7 kms north of Pleiku - didn't have a lot of time for sightseeing but this was a pleasant spot for a short time


Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0502s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb