Thailand....Eastside!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
September 23rd 2007
Published: September 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After loads of people telling me Phuket was a shithole I decided to get over to the East Coast and meet up with everyone else! I was sat on the top deck of the ferry chatting to this girl when I heard someone calling my name! I looked around and Luke/Caroline were on the ferry next to me! They were also heading to Ko Sumui so I arranged to meet them where they were staying. After the boat trip I caught a coach and then another ferry to Ko Sumui. I tried getting a taxi at Ko Sumui but they were really expensive so I decided to try one of the moped taxis! It was cheap and certainly an experience sat on the back of a moped with my massive bag hanging off the back! I finally met up with Luke and Caroline and had a load of drinks with them, luke even paid.....result!!
We hired out some mopeds the next day and rode down to Chewang which is on the East coast to meet Justin. Justin hired a moped as well but realised he couldn't ride one so had to come on the back of mine like a fag. We all toured around the island and checked out this waterfall which was a dissapointment after the trek to get to it. I got a flat on my moped which cost 200 baht to fix (3 quid)...result! 2 guys followed me and luke back to the bike and one of the guys who only had one arm rode mine back whilst I had to sit on the back with the other bloke. He had long hair and stunk so that was nice....
We went out one of the nights with everyone and also a girl I met at Lukes hotel and some Kiwis that luke/caroline had met up North. We had a heavy session anyway because Justin was leaving as well and I wont be meeting up with him again.
Me and Liz also went to the Crocodile and snake show which was excellent! Those guys are nuts! They both had scars all over their arms and one was also missing a finger. The snake show was really good as well until the guy carried a king cobra into the audience and pushed it towards my crotch! Never realised those snakes were that big!
After everyone had moved on I decided to head to Ko Phan Yang for some partying so I caught the boat over there. I'd been there 6 years previously and it wasn't as good as I remembered it....basically LOADS of Israelis getting pissed up! I met up with two Irish girls and a dutch guy the first night so we all went down to the beach in the evening for some buckets which was a laugh. I got bored of drinking, and to be honest thats all there is to do there, so I decided to catch a longboat around the bay to a place called the Sanctury which was recommended by a girl I met in Melbourne. It was so much nicer there and alot more chilled. I met up with this Canadian girl so spent evenings at the bar with her and then during the day either on the beach or lying in the hammock ;o)
I was supposed to be heading to Ko Tao to do some more diving but was starting to get a little bored of islands/beaches so instead I decided to head straight to Bangkok on the night train.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

The daddy... King Cobra!The daddy... King Cobra!
The daddy... King Cobra!

These are HUGE! I was cool until he walked over to me and pushed its head towards my crotch...I was like get that fuckin thing away from me!
More like it!More like it!
More like it!

Because it was raining one day I spent the entire day chilling in the hammock...hard life ;o)
The SancturyThe Sanctury
The Sanctury

This was a health spa which had been recommended. Was nice chilling after Ko Phan Yang.
Inside trainInside train
Inside train

The seats folded up and everyone had their own sleeping compartment


Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0815s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb