Back to Kanchanaburi....for the kids


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Western Thailand » Kanchanaburi
October 10th 2006
Published: November 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Playing BasketballPlaying BasketballPlaying Basketball

Teaching the children different words, Dribble, Shoot, Pass to a number, Exhibition.
Went back to Kanchanaburi as we'd seen a poster in the Jolly Frog guesthouse saying that people could come to a school and teach English to the children there. We emailed the Teacher at the school and they said it was fine for us to come down for a couple of days.
Both me and Dave were really nervous about what to expect from doing this but it was really great fun. We were only expected to answer back to them in very simple greetings and helped the teacher play some games where you used opposites and played basketball, using the words 'Pass to', 'shoot', 'dribble' and 'exhibition' kind of showboating with the ball. As we'd enjoyed it so much me and Dave said we'd definately go back the following day. Although the school was closed for the summer holidays, it was like a summer activities class. We were only working with girls sadly cause we'd took the football hoping to have a kick about. The school is only a village school called Nongkhaokitpittayakom (bit of a mouthful I know!) and they can't really afford to get an english teacher in so they rely on volunteers to help and so for that reason we had to go back. The following day we supervising people on bikes, they had to find me a bike that was big enough for me to use!!! We went round the village, visiting a temple, had a go at making a sweet rice cracker over the fire, which I slightly burnt!
We also went to an onyx factory and helped the children with some phrases that they had to write into their books. I had a bit of an embarrassing moment when they all asked me how to spell Sapphire and I had to have a look through a Thai/English dictionary. I'm meant to be the native english speaker!!
We then went to a house where we saw some Grandmother's pots. The people in Nong Khao believe that the ancestors spirits live in these pots and it brings them luck to keep them in the house. After some food the children had to fill in part of their book with their friends name and addresses, but all of them wanted our names and addresses, along with the danish girls who had also volunteered. I felt like a rock star with all these people queing up up for
Dropping a footplant...Dropping a footplant...Dropping a footplant...

I'd like to see Matt Hoffman drop some stunts on this crazy bike...
my name! After that it was the end of the day, but I was really sad about leaving cause it really felt good to do something that helped other people and they really apprieciated it. I really wanna go back, if I have the time I may do another week. While I've been away more and more I've learned that there is so much opportunity out there to help people, its not all drinking it up on the Khao San Road. I hope to go back if I have the time.
If anyone is travelling and reads this blog, email me and I'll send the details of the school through to you. They always need people to help.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Helping out....Helping out....
Helping out....

Although my spelling is a little shaky at the best of times....
Making a Rice cake.......Making a Rice cake.......
Making a Rice cake.......

Seems like there's nothing to it......
Grandmothers potsGrandmothers pots
Grandmothers pots

These are believed to house the spirits of people who have died in the village.
What is your name? Where are you from?What is your name? Where are you from?
What is your name? Where are you from?

Must have answered those questions about 40 times on those pages!
End of the DayEnd of the Day
End of the Day

Me and Dave (at the back) Along with the Danish Volunteers and all the staff and Children.
Saying GoodbyeSaying Goodbye
Saying Goodbye

Me and Dave with a few of the kids before we left.
A slam dunking monkeyA slam dunking monkey
A slam dunking monkey

Found this picture by the bridge over the river kwai. I want one!


Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0682s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb