Chang Mai. Its Well Temple


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
October 15th 2006
Published: November 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Disco Carriage!!!Disco Carriage!!!Disco Carriage!!!

Chang Mai here we come, to the sound of Pumping Thai Dance music, hold on tight!!!
Finally escaped the Hurly Burly Mayhem of Bangkok and headed north to Chang Mai. Chang Mai is Thailands second city and as Birmingham is England's second city I felt a bit of Second city love coming on. Wasn't disappointed its a big town but really chilled out with it. The Sleeper train was a bit crazy on the way up though, me and dave went through to the food carriage to have a couple of drinks and we were greeted by some sort of disco carriage! I can only describe it as something you'd see in Phoenix nights on wheels, I was kind of expecting Ray Von to come onto the Microphone any second and ask us to scream if we wanted to go faster! The choice of music was a kind of Thai Trance, if that exists. It was easily the most surreal train carriage I've ever been in.
Met the 2 lovely ladies Gemma and Susanne from Manchester in Chang Mai who we had first met in Bangkok a few days before, reds as well so it was all good. Dave got very friendly with one of them, so I spent the night on the rather uncomftable tiled floor outside our door. I was a little drunk, woke up by the cleaners in the morning who were cleaning around me!! Went for a walk around Chang Mai in the morning on my own as my room was still 'in use' Walked up to a temple and checked it out, at the back is a temple which is the oldest in Chang Mai at 700 years old! It has elephants all around the base and you are not allowed to walk up it. I don't unfortunately have the name of it here, or pick up a flier for it. Doh! Also went to Wat Ou Sai Kham which houses the Jade buddha statue. A piece of Jade weighing 2.572 was found in Myanmar which was carved into the buddha image. Its pretty samrt although it weighs 900kg which I reckon is quite heavy. Also bought an Amulet from here. after staggering round for a bit went home and slept for the rest of the day.
Following day me and Dave went temple hunting again went to Wat Phra Singh which was pretty cool as there were monks reciting some verses. It was interesting to watch, they all changed poses at the same time and it was worth seeing. Despite walking round all these temples I haven't seen loads of monks in the same place at one time very often which I was suprised at.
After that we got a tuk-tuk up the Doi Suthep mountain to Wat Phra That Doi Suthep temple. The driver fancied himself as a bit of a Colin McRae on the way up, if I'd been hungover, I'd have been wearing my dinner. Got blessed by a buddhist monk at the top, more luck for me, I'm gonna have to cash all these lucky armbands soon for a lottery ticket! I can't lose.
After that went out for a drink, on the way back met a girl called Alice who recognised me from a small chat I had with her in Bangkok, while brushing my teeth in a shared Bathroom!! Met her boyfriend Glynn and 2 other couples that are travelling with them together, Rachel and Pete and Jess and James. Also met their mate Jenny who is from Germany, just outside Berlin. Could be a possible contact when I wanna go to Berlin! We've decided that we will all be going to Pai together in
Wat Phra Singh TempleWat Phra Singh TempleWat Phra Singh Temple

With a chilled looking Buddha and monks reciting verses.
a couple of days. Was good as well is Alice and Glynn live in Birmingham and Rachel studied there too, loads of discussions, Gun Barrells has supposedly been done up (allegedly) but the question is this: Kebab Land or Big Johns?



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

For Ste Cooper......For Ste Cooper......
For Ste Cooper......

You may not be in Asia at the moment mate, but your spirit is.....


Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb