Bridge over the Kwai


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Western Thailand » Kanchanaburi
March 27th 2007
Published: March 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I had to be up and in reception for a 7am pick up I had breakfast before I went the mini bus finally picked me up at 7:45 then we headed out of Bangkok towards Kanchanburi before we got there we had to change mini bus due to poor air conditioning the new bus was no better. We got to Kanchanburi and stopped at the Allied War Cemetery then we went to the World War 2 Museum and the bridge over the River Kwai then we went by mini bus to a train station and caught the train which went to Nom Tuk via the death railway. Following this we then stopped for lunch and then went to a waterfall before we headed to the Tiger Temple where Buddhist Monks look after the tigers here we got chance to sit with the tigers for photo’s. We then boarded the mini bus and this was very hot the temperature outside was 39C with 90% humidity as the air conditioning was not working we opened the windows only to be told by the drive to shut them we told him it is too hot so he turned the air conditioning off and about 45 mins later stopped the bus and asked how much we paid for the ticket we said 550 bhat and he said he would pay us 500 to get off the bus we said no and shut the windows and suffered the heat. Following the return to the hotel I dropped my stuff of and went for dinner I ended up having chicken sweet & sour and a beer for 60 bhat which worked out to about 90p. I then went onto Khao San Road looking at the goods for sale, I can get a pair of Nike shock trainers for 1400 Bhat about £20. I purchased a couple of cds to play on the laptop they cost 100 bhat currently the exchange rate is 67 Bhat to the pound.
I also saw the cart that sells the fried beetles and grass hoppers, not tried them yet.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0336s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb