Koh Samui/Phuket- twin errors of judgement


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
May 3rd 2007
Published: May 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well well, it seems that I made my first travel blunder by visiting the totally overdeveloped and tourist contaminated trashy island of Koh Samui (in the Gulf of Thailand), where everyone outside every shop is trying to sell cheap suits, clothes, taxi services and whatever else. I don't recommend going here. The beach is nice but there are just so many resorts blocking the way.

The plan was to get to Koh Phangan- for the full moon party. I'd travelled through Southern Thailand the previous day (don't worry no terrorist bombings or shootings occurred that day, but things are still pretty tense), and stayed in the city of Hat Yai. By bus ands boat I made it to Koh Samui. All I was thinking about on the way was the hell I was doing going to this island but I thought na I'll make friends and all would be OK. Well, no such friends made.

In the end however things semi worked out. I stayed in quite a luxurious (and at suuch a good price) bungalow resort a stone's through from the beach and then by the next day eventually started talking to some guys that were going to the full moon party and said "hey can I come", so that was no problem and a few hours later was at the party. The full moon party was pretty good, but the rain but a bit of a dampner on things. There should have been around 20,000 people but I certainly didn't count that many. By the end of the night I was at some bar where this guy had majorly cut his foot open, there was blood all over the show and no-one in the bar seemed to care. The best that the Thai staff could do was clean up the blood, good job but they didn't really think that if they stopped the bleeding there would be less cleaning to do- you know, long-term. So I ended up running around like an idiot trying to find a bangade for this poor guy. When I finally found a doctor they tried to charge me around $30, well I had no time to bargain so I just grabbed it then grabbed a nurse, headed back to the scene used my pro medical skills and that was that.


The next day I decided no more Koh Sumui and went to Phuket. I opted for a quiet beach called Kata which I was ensured that it was quiet and no so overdone and I definity stayed away from Phuket's main tourist beach. It was nice enough, but again a bit too touristy. Turns out it's a bit of a Swedish top spot, maybe a soft form of colonialism. As soon as I started seeing Swedish flags I knew that it was all over. I mean if I want to see Swedish flags, I'll go to Sweden. But at least Kata's beach front wasn't dominated by massive resort complexes, so it wasn't too bad. But I only stayed for one night which says enough.






Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



11th May 2007

Too commercialized huh
Hey hey, just wanted to say that i totally agree with you. Experienced the exact same thing when i was there.. Keep it real yea.. xoxo P
13th May 2007

Clowns
Can't beleive you went all the way there and missed the good spots.
15th May 2007

Hey don't worry boss as I'm back there in November. Get back to that IT aye.

Tot: 0.235s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0542s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb