Krabi Town (20-22 Aug 14)


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Krabi
August 21st 2014
Published: August 21st 2014
Edit Blog Post

Welcome to C(K)rab(i)!Welcome to C(K)rab(i)!Welcome to C(K)rab(i)!

I wonder if it was intentional, but the authorities have erected a giant crab and its offspring to stand guard over the mouth of the River Krabi, welcoming all excited and photo trigger-happy tourists, and almost overshadowing the twin limestone karsts that you see in the distance that have historically defined the region.
Hello to all, I'm back on the road again!

But only a relatively brief month-long trip or so this time, back to my favourite destination Thailand again, where I hope to check out some parts that I'd missed earlier.

And my first stop was in the laid-back riverside town of Krabi, pretty much renowned among backpackers as the launchpad for the pristine beaches of nearby Ao Nang, as well as the cluster of islands Koh Phi Phi, immortalised in Leonardo di Caprio's movie The Beach. It is the latter that I will be heading to after two days of lazy wandering around the quiet streets of Krabi Town in the low season. Apart from it being my first time here, I'd also taken the opportunity to check out a trade fair in town, and planned an assault of some Southern Thailand beaches around this itinerary. After several months back home, it feels good to be back on the road again, though I've realised it takes a couple of days to return to a focused backpacking mode. My time here in Krabi Town has served exactly that purpose. Stay tuned for what's to come!

Stayed at Good Dream Guesthouse 2.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0788s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb