To first Island in Thailand - Ko Samui


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Samui
November 11th 2008
Published: November 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 3


Way to Samui



I woke up to a gloomy weather, cloudy sky, drizzling rain just at the time When the bus reached Don Sak Pier (Ferry leaving point) at 7am. We missed the 7 o'clock ferry and had to wait for an hour when we got out of our bus to board the ferry letting our driver to park entire bus of ours in the vessel bottom along with other vehicles. I occasionally changed places between the sitting area inside to deck of the ferry to see the gentle waves of South China sea, islands and damped protruding cliffs and rising out of the sea. We got back to our seats when we touched the Samui island. By 11 am the bus reached the final stop which was mostly deserted.

Samui Island



Samui is bigger island than I imagined. As soon as I got down I found difficulty in going to Chaweng. And there was not much taxis available. All less number of taxis that exist were charging a 500 bahts which was the same cost as bus fare from Bangkok to Samui. I stand there stranded and was wondering and miserable with the taxi drivers shouting at me when one local girl traveler from same bus helped me and suggested to take small Thai van (Songthaew) which was looked amusing to me. The front of it resembled a car with two seats in front and back side resembled an open school van.It was a long way through the jungle and through Lamai(but the sea looked amazing by the beach dark clouded sky and blue and green sea in front) when I reached Chaweng. I found out my guesthouse Penzy guesthouse, Penzy which was run by British gentleman and Thai lady. I met couple of guys from London(William and Darren) who put there. They had trouble landing in Samui airport took the detour to Phuket waited there for 4 hours and then later turned up in Samui. Luckily the room was really cozy with nice bed, mini freeze, TV, DVD player contrast to the sad weather outside.

Chaweng Beach



Evening just before dark when the rain stopped I headed to the Chaweng beach but with the entire stretch of the beach been walled by an array of beach resorts that I wasted a lot of time to find an entrance to the beach. The beach looked clean and nice even in rough weather and the beach resorts have gracefully decorated, lightened with open air beach restaurants and front sacks. There are few people walking by the beach as well as a "monkey" and few Australian playing beach cricket. I met Filipino British dude and his Londoner girlfriend who showed me their recently purchased newly launched Nikon D90 Camera and as well the capture of their trabels. They were headed for Full Moon party at Ko Phangan the next day and hoped I see them there. I reached the north end of the Chaweng Beach by countless number of sea resorts and surprisingly found an easy way out to the road. Each side of the street is packed with endless shops, restaurants, bars, massage centers, hawkers with all sorts from passive ones to rude and loud ones from South Asia Bangladeshis, Indians, Pakis. Each try to sell something small or big by befriending the passers by and probably potential customers. The bars and restaurants looked posh with as many "Farangs" gathered for a meet up.

Nightlife at Chaweng



Back to my room I rested a while before Nick, William's cousin and local turned up with his Rovers and drove us to a bar Green Mango where we chilled out for a while playing snooker and arena games. Funnily I won each game of snooker beating William and Darren. I owe special thanks to Will for his treat of Chang Beer and large Whooper and that he fund my dinner though we hardly met. Darren and William left for some "private meeting" why I headed to Green Mango around 12 in the night for startup and seasoning myself before Full Moon Party. I left the club at 2 am but I managed to find did not find way back to my room without problem.




Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.036s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb