Transitional Phase in Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand
November 10th 2008
Published: November 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 2


First Morning abroad 10th November



It was late morning in Bangkok when I rolled out of the bed to realize that I missed out the complementary breakfast. Just across the street I found a retail store where I got a fresh 8 gb SD memory cards for cameras and also got my documents photocopied. Enquiring the locals I took a cab to South Terminal bus Station where the buses leave for Ko Samui. I realized it was easy and cheaper to book tickets personally and without any hassle I got the reservation for an AC VIP bus with attached toilet which goes to Ko Samui via Don Sak Pier. In scorching sun I took solace in an airconditioned cab to Paragon Shopping Center from the bus station taxi service center which drove briskly to the mall.

Paragon Shopping Center



Paragon Shopping Center is huge! huge! huge! I could not barely see the end of the shopping center walking like me a rat walking the maze that I found Lamborghini, Porshe and Ferrari showroom dispalyed in one of the top floor windows. I bought a pair of rayban sunglass and nike trekking shoes. I prefered to buy it from here though I found there were cheaper and fake products sold by the streets.

Khao San Road



I hurried back to hotel post documentation for VAT refund for tourist only to realize I have reach early to head to bus station. I took time to pack my stuff and even strolled down the streets and small and narrow criss cross alleys of Kao Saon Road. foreign backpackers pouring in the the place gradually. There are all kinds of shops around owned by locals and neighboring countries. I even saw an old Turbaned Punjabi trying to sell some junk to tourists. He didnot even respond to me wishing him may be he realized I be of no
good for his business needs. Fetching a cheese burger from the Burger King I took a taxi from the back side of Khao San Road close to where the stupa was located to Bus Station.

South Terminal Bus Terminal



It was a long wait at the bus terminal. I indulged myself in a game of arena at the shopping center located in second floor and watching the passers by and locals who flocked the area to catch buses to various places. Alone in the crowd I try to intimidate myself with the commuting life of the people of Thailand. Feeling hungry again I got a bucket of KFC chicken. I was impressed by the taste and quality of the chicken served in Thailand. Chicken here is a lot better than in India and not much difference in prices.

Bus to Samui



The window seat of mine was clean,spacious and comfortable and the service of the uniformed bus attendant was 5 stars. The only problem was she could hardly speak or understand English and I felt handicapped and should have learnt some basic Thai phrases before heading here. I repeated the actions and motions of fellow all Thai passengers in the bus. The bus crossed lit up Bangkok city and zoomed through the perfectedly rolled highway road.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.244s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0539s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb