Koh Phi Phi


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Phi Phi Don
June 20th 2014
Published: June 20th 2014
Edit Blog Post

After our first LONG bus journey on a sleeper bus (where we were sat right at the back below the violent air con all night) and a short boat ride, we arrived in Koh Phi Phi.

Seeing as we got ripped off and our whole Thailand trip planned for us, we had to stay in the accommodation booked for us, called something like 'Pong ping house', which I can only describe as looking like a drug den..it was tiny, had no windows and after waking up with blood on our pillows we discovered there were bed bugs too, YAY! In all honesty I wasn't bothered, I'm not one for luxury and frankly I was smashed each night I came in to sleep, and we hardly spent any of the day in there. The only positive was how close it was to the beautiful beach.

Lying on the beach in 30+ degrees, all I could think was how glad I was that I took a #gapyah and that I could be in a lecture hall right now being a disgustingly poor student. (Yes, I will be exactly that next year)

Nights out in Koh Phi Phi were amazing with cheap alcohol, great people and fire tricks, bar almost getting hit by a flaming baton which the performer failed to catch...

We made three rookie errors in Koh Phi Phi - one: frantically taking all the ice out of all our drinks thinking we'd get a dodgy stomach (We later found out they were safe)
two: falling asleep in the midday sun, my back peeled for a week, DISGUSTING.
three: attempting to climb up to Phi Phi viewpoint the morning after a night out, ridiculously hungover/still drunk. Not enjoyable at all and we got overtook about 10 times while climbing by elderly people. On the plus side, the view was worth it.

We booked a boat trip package to Monkey Beach, snorkelling near Maya Bay and visiting the beach where 'The Beach' was filmed..yes I walked on the same sand as Leonardo Dicaprio. If I remember right it was about 400 baht, and was so worth it!

After our three days in Koh Phi Phi, we headed to Krabi, just a boat trip away.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.201s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.145s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb