Phi Phi, Pad Thai & Ping Pongs


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Phi Phi Don
January 9th 2007
Published: March 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So you thought you had had the last news from wandering Vicki? Not so at all. Even though I have been back home for nearly four months now, I always intended to make sure that I added my last country on my round the world trip: Thailand.

But dont fret, this blog entry will be very short, it is predominately going to be a picture blog. This is mainly due to the fact that I would have told all the best stories by now and also because I dont actually remember what we did! So anyway, have a look at the photos and dream away.

Notes from trip (sorry these notes wont make sense to anyone but me!)

- Cape Town, Singapore, Bangkok in just 80 hours! Wow am I a world traveller...or should I saw WAS!!!
- Bangkok - great buzzing city - traditional Thai meets Western Consumerism, loved the noise, the people, the smells of Pad Thai, cold Singha beer and the Tuk Tuk driver who tried$ to rip us off but didnt get away with it (never take on three girls!). Not so impressive was the Ping Pong show we went to, still puzzled as to how they get razor blades and nails up there!!! Ouuuuuch!
- Phi Phi Islands, visited 'the Beach', the girls out partying, I had to go to hospital with a bad ear infection.
- Chiang Mai, great night markets, a massage a day (should become a legal requirement), lots of yummy authentic food!

Will update my blog the next couple of days with my whereabouts at the moment and some pics from NZ. Have got lots of exciting news, so watch out.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Laksa GaloreLaksa Galore
Laksa Galore

So much yummy food and so much of it!
Sacha & DeanSacha & Dean
Sacha & Dean

in their swanky Singapore pad. I am Sacha's bridesmaid at their Sydney wedding later this year. Bring it on.
Western meets EasternWestern meets Eastern
Western meets Eastern

Pad Thai or Starbucks???
Here we are still enjoying our Tuk Tuk ride...Here we are still enjoying our Tuk Tuk ride...
Here we are still enjoying our Tuk Tuk ride...

...however it didnt last that long!
I thought Henna Paint didnt hurt?I thought Henna Paint didnt hurt?
I thought Henna Paint didnt hurt?

Well not this one!!! A little gem!
Three girls on the loose!Three girls on the loose!
Three girls on the loose!

Sacha, Sandy and me - Our big night out in Ko Phi Phi
Just in case...Just in case...
Just in case...

...you got so used to squatting and you might crawl up onto the seat of the toilet to squat. Well, no, no mister, that is not allowed!
Steep cliffs and coral green waterSteep cliffs and coral green water
Steep cliffs and coral green water

does it get any more beautiful?
Sunset on the BeachSunset on the Beach
Sunset on the Beach

We stayed to watch the sunset from the boat which was magical. So quiet and serene.
Our $8 hut!Our $8 hut!
Our $8 hut!

Sandy and I stayed at this backpackers on the border between Thailand and Laos - it was fantastic except for the fact that it was so full of creepy crawlies that I was certain my bed was actually moving!!!
20 Baht Pad Thai20 Baht Pad Thai
20 Baht Pad Thai

Thats about $1 a pop, no wonder we had Pad Thai for breakfast lunch and dinner!!! Yummy!
Just looking at the picture makes me relax...Just looking at the picture makes me relax...
Just looking at the picture makes me relax...

Sandy and I had a massage a day while in Thailand. It was sooooo good!


9th March 2007

What an inspiration
Hi Vicky, it has to be said that you have certainly given me some 'wanderlust' inspiration this last year, what a trip, glad you have enjoyed it so much. And shared it, particularly I am still struck by your stories of the roadtrip in Alaska which clearly was quite amazing. Looking forward to your news!
10th March 2007

Love the blog
Hey Vix Great update - bought back lots of great memories. Bring on Bali! Sach xxxx

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0725s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb