Full Moon


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
July 3rd 2012
Published: July 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

None of us really slept, especially with a midnight stop, so it was a bizarre night. The aircon for me is always too cold which I can handle except every once in a while you get one that drips. So I was rained on all the way there, another use for my pashmina to keep me dry. Arrived at 3am which was quite bizarre but we made ourselves a little camp of plastic chairs, got a chance to talk to some others on their way to the full moon party and even got to see the sun rise. Being near the ocean at last is exhilarating. The anticipation was thrilling. When we finally got on the ferry was I ready to personally request an immediate departure. The journey once we got going was very pleasant; we lay out on the front of the reasonably small boat and I could read my kindle in the sun, still on The Hunger Games and gripped on every word. Unfortunately, I’d underestimated the journey time and was overcome by that British excitement over any sign of sun. I wore some cream, factor 50 even, but in the heat of the Hunger Games, there was no re-application and sunburn ensued. Why am I so pale, this will surely last the week and on the day of the biggest beach party, ever. Anyway, so we got here, it was pretty chaotic but we got to our bungalow with its little porch and hammock right by the beach. Had a nap and a tonne of water which I’m pleased I chose to do as I was pretty dazed and felt better before we started up to go out. A friend of Ben’s from travelling came over from Samui and we had a wonderful time with him. We’ve made plans to stay with him once we move on which should be Saturday and I’m really excited J The full moon party was crazy, there are between 20 to 30 thousand people on the beach, buckets of drink, creative uses of fire and every kind of music you could want. It lasts all night, I admit that I didn’t and headed home one I lost my friends but met alot of fun people and got home safely along with the boys. We are staying right by Had Rim so it was so easy to come and go and for that I think we did good. There’s at least a police presence and that keeps things at least somewhat under control as you’d be amazing what people are possessed to get up to. Good night but I must say I’m more of a natural beauty, waterfall, feeding elephants kind of a girl myself. Happy to have it all even so, I slept well and woke late,



Sweetdreams and love to everyone, from Katie

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.028s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb