On to the islands!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
January 16th 2008
Published: January 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

(Dave) Whew! We finally made it South! Heather and I finished at the hospital, had another quick visit with Aunt Riki, and took an overnighter train to a jumping off point to the islands. The train was fine, with challenges. Good temperature, but wee seats, and for some reason there was a big diesel engine right under us. I thought trains used a big engine on the front, but what do I know. We each had a bit of sleep and when we arrived at pre-dawn 0600 were herded with the other travellers onto a pickup truck taxi and to the cool big fast catamaran. We headed straight into the rising sun, and the islands as they appeared were stunning. There were times when it was strikingly apparent that we were not in the States any more! The boats, buildings and people put us square in Asia.
And here we are on the island called Koh Pha-Ngan. I haven't looked on Google earth yet, but I'm sure it's keen. We are staying on the NNW coast with gorgeous white sand beaches. It's a decent little town, with a few markets, restaurants, dive shops, and sweet little bungalows. I believe Heather is going into more detail so I will spare you all the duplication.
Oh, since I'm thinking of it, the little kids running around here are SO adorable!! All smiley and cute and it's so rare to see one crying or fussing. It makes my ovaries throb.

Advertisement



17th January 2008

Ovaries
Dear Dave. If the sight of children make your ovaries tingle, you better take a closer view of that dentist! All is well here, reading and listening to music several hours a day! Loving life! Rather cold right now, do you remember 5 degrees above zero? I think and pray for the two of you several times a day. Love yopa Rg

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0522s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb