On our Way to Solitude


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
January 16th 2008
Published: January 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

HEATHER:
White sand beaches with turquoise water, long tail boats with colorful decor, jungle surroundings, steep cliffs and stunning rock formations, exotic fruit trees and gleaming beaming sweet and genuine smiles everywhere. Sitting in hammocks today was bliss...feeling the slowness seep into our over-driven westernized systems...I think we are just barely beginning to grasp that we don't HAVE to be anywhere, don't HAVE to call anyone, don't NEED to DO anything...
I'll give you an example; when I am in the USA, many people gasp and reel when they hear that I will be gone for 7 weeks, "I wish I could take that time off work, I wish I could have enough money for that kind of travel, wow that's a long vacation"....then I arrive in my country/region of choice, and CONSISTENTLY meet people here for 1-10 months...rarely for less than 3-4 weeks. My time then seems short, or average...but certainly not luxurious or extravagant, definitely not indulgent or impossible. Rather, travel is embraced as a beautiful and unique form of education, the education of connection and communication that bridges language 'barriers' , the education of opening one's mind to new possibilities of lifestyle, taste, preference, standard of living...the education and experience of adaptation and integration; to what level am I willing to extend myself, to feel UNcomfortable and out of place, how much do I want to REALLY understand what it truly means to be Thai, French, Brazilian, or African?
To some degree I feel that my travel in the past and currently has been more surface-level, I have not embedded myself in a small rural town or community to learn the language, help care for a garden or frail family member, learned the spiritual beliefs and honored the values of their culture, worked or volunteered for a while, actually invested myself in their community.
I LONG for this type of connection and experience. I actually think that this knowing inside MAY being a slight sense of grieving, even while I am enjoying myself and napping luxuriously hammocks in a sweet little guest-house by the glimmering emerald Gulf of Thailand for a mere $12/night! I promised myself this was not a trip about 'saving the world', that I would do what I could to travel by rail/boat rather than car or plane...that I would try not to buy plastic bottle drinks/water, that I would conserve water wherever possible, trying to keep my footprint reasonably small.
The fact of the matter is, as my mother always reminds me when I'm fantasizing about launching another travel adventure, "Wherever you go, there you are"...and wow does that turn out to be true. I can't help but have a 'conscience' even while vacationing in S.E. Asia.
The people here are honestly as kind and graceful as they are renowned for throughout the world. What I've realized through being here too...is that the people seem to be genuinely content and even happy and joyous. I don't think I have heard ONE raised voice, one demanding parent, one screaming baby, nor one tiff or fight. Even when I turn down the 79th haggler at the market or train station, they still have the sweetest smile for me! How amazing. Quite something it is to bear witness to such peace and joy, and often reverence. Many people bow and place palms together when they see a Wat (Temple)...so beautiful.
Dave and I have been faring quite well with our decision-making process, as most of you know this is my first time traveling with a companion, so I am beyond pleased to see the 'other side' of travel...I do notice how much LESS I interact with other travelers, when I am solo I of course am much more approachable, and also tend to be far more gregarious and motivated to connect with fellow Earth-Wanderers.
Another thing I have been delightfully suprised about is my ability to adapt to the weather. When in Spain I was nearly ready to leave the country, purely based on how little I could bear the heat, especially at night. I believe it is far more humid and definitely as hot, if not more hot than Spain here in Thailand. And this is Winter! Despite the sticky skin, sweat and hot wind...I am whole-heartedly enjoying the heat. Nighttime is positively pleasant too 😊
Well...I am sending you all lots of love and looking forward to sharing stories and pictures....despite this being one of the NICEST flat screen computers I've seen in Thailand....we cannot download pics for some reason.
More to come!
Blissful hugs to you.
~Heather~


Advertisement



17th January 2008

Kudos to both of you
How wonderful to read both Dave's and Heather's input over the past few days! friendly tigers, story-sharing-vets, smiling children, twin hammocks... and great food too! sounds like you're both enjoying the trip so far - and I can only wish you more relaxation and enjoyment. Remember - the journey is the reward... :-) xo Karen JOY
17th January 2008

HOLY wah!
I am so thrilled to read your blog and hear about your adventures. It is palpable the feeling of being there. What a wonderful thing that you see this new world around you the way you do! Although you are missed... it does the heart great wonders to know you are both on such a neat adventure. Much love and joy sent on the wind in your direction. Oh and can you pick up some weed for me while you are there? JUST KIDDING! Have a great time!

Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 54; dbt: 0.1071s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb