Koh Pha Ngan


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
December 19th 2007
Published: December 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We flew from Bangkok to Koh Samui and then took a fast boat (ferry) to Koh Phangan. We are missing out on the full moon party that has made this island famous because, well... we are too old. Staying at a pretty cool place on the beach called Milky Bay resort. Costs $40 a night including breakfast (yet drinks are $6 a piece - go figure). Our first day here - we lounged by the pool and tried to intimidate people out of the chairs with sun. Mike's cousin who is also on the island joined us, she is living in Hifa (Israel) with her boy friend. We had a great supper with them ( Thai curry is sooo good) and had an early evening as everyone is trying to get accustomed to:
1. time change
2. 60 degree differential in weather
3. drinking too early in the day

Ryan and I found a cockroach in our bed last night. The insect net went up right after I tell you, and I could here their feet all night long scurrying about (or at least I in my head I did).

We got up and rented mopeds to cruise the island (although I had to be convinced). If a Thai hits you, you pay and there is no insurance avail. After the first 10 stressful minutes of me digging my nails into Ryan when we were only going 20 kms/hour , we had a great ride through tropical jungle and views of the coast. Finally feel like we are on holidays. We drove over to Nir and Heather's (Mikes' cousin) and chilled on the beach for the day. We stopped in at a hole in the wall to eat - $1.50 Thai seafood curry and a banana shake - sweet!! I could live off of these shakes.

As we were about to head back it started to pour. We took cover and waited, and waited. Finally it seemed to clear up. Everyone hoped back on to head back to town (except me as I am chicken shit of those slick roads - taxi!!!) where it proceeded to downpour several more times but everyone got back safe and sound. Something out of a movie scene - driving around in a foreign country with soaken wet clothes. Oh yea and being foreign, I think there are more foreigners here than Thais. Forgot to put that in my last entry.

We got a thai massage here - very awesome and only $10 or less!!! They do a bunch of contortions throughout the massage - feels great after. Tonight thinking of hitting up Muay Thai Kickboxing to see some fights. Mike is thinking of entering if the prize is ample, and if there is a ladies bout - haha.

Talk soon....




Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



19th December 2007

What?
You and I are the same. WHen Ed rents a moped, I get the nails out and bitch and complain. Once we're on the road, things change and I love every second. So far, your trip seems awesome. Love the massage pictures. Are you double-jointed? Yikes!
20th December 2007

El Cucaracha
I love how you named your room:) Always remember to zip up your bags when you're not taking stuff in or out of them...you might end up with stow aways. and yes, I'm speaking from a SE Asia experience.

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb