Here and There


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Chumphon
November 5th 2007
Published: November 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello All,

Here we are a couple days in and it's been fun. 20 hours on the plane and finally landed in Bangkok. Bangkok was cool, got in around 12:30 am and then headed out to a bar. Ended up ordering a couple beers and some curry at some outdoor bar in the middle of some festival. I Soon discovered that it wasn't my pasty white skin the boys we noticing but that we were at a gay bar in the middle of gay pride week! Sweet. Those boys make a mean Curry!

Bangkok was too crazy so we took a train yesterday form Bangkok to Chumphon. There were no first and second class tickets left so we sat in 3rd class. 192 baht each($6CDN !) I have no idea how that train stayed on the tracks the whole time. We're cruising in this rust bucket of train, going like 100km/hour and they don't even close the doors. Banging and crashing, people sweating. And there's no windows, just open air. The 3rd class section is absolutely jam packed and Shannon and I are the only whitey's in sight. our knees scrunched up against the couple who we face the entire trip. I'm suprised noboby had live chickens on the train cause that was all that was missing. We finally arrive at a station, hoping this was our stop. There's no announcements, no signs, you just have to hope you're getting off in the right town.

This morning we went to a day market in Chumphon and just imagine a building the size of Ikea and everbody is jammed into every inch selling something. Fish, dead chicekn, sandals, pig heads. And I swear we walked around downtown and around the market and Shannon and I were the only tourists in sight. Anyways, I'll have to put some pictures up later. So, in a couple days we're going to head to the island of Koh Toa to find a shack on the beach and do some snorkelling. I will post some pictures then, cause this is probably boring. Cheers!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



5th November 2007

But the real question...have you lost your passport yet? So glad to hear from you guys. Can't wait to see some pics.
5th November 2007

Koh Toa
Enjoy Koh Tao... there's great snorkeling and check out Shark Bay.. nothing but black tipped reef sharks if you get the chance!
5th November 2007

?????
You guy's are in Thailand? Wow...who knew. Good to hear things are well.
5th November 2007

Bling! Bling!
Hello Brother.... I am assuming that everything is swell and that you and Shannon are fine...I know cut the crap....just seeing how I would sound if I really talked like that. I read your post and I got 1 word for ya...DAMN...sounds like da crest on a saturday. I hope everything is cool bro and I sent you a post but don't really know what I'm doing on this...you know! Take Care!
6th November 2007

glad to hear
Glad to hear you made it safe and sound. Will check back soon to see those pics! This blog thing is kinda cool, eh?
6th November 2007

I dunno
Just seeing if I can actually get a post on this blog thingy.....hmmmm let's see....what happens if I press THIS key here.....
8th November 2007

Hello
Hi Greg and Shannon, glad to hear things are going well. Greg this description of the train is missing the live chickens....too funny!! Take care and I have enjoyed your journals so far.
22nd November 2007

Hi Greg and Shannon, Greg here, looks like a great trip with great pictures. I wish that we were there as well, we woke up to -11. well have a great time, looking forward to more photos and memoirs.

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 11; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0611s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb