Two days in beautiful Ao Nang


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ao Nang
February 15th 2013
Published: February 16th 2013
Edit Blog Post

We were overcome by the beauty of Ao Nang while we were approaching it by boat. From our pictures below you can see why. We were taken to our hotel and were able to stash our bags there while we went for lunch and to the beach and waited to check in.

That night we found a little bar with live music right on the beach. I love that about Thailand. It is easy to find live music and no entrance fee is ever needed. The man performing was originally from New York and had moved to Thailand several years earllier. He performed many rock songs and we had a great time.

Our second day in Ao Nang we woke up early and ready to explore. We rented a scooter and explored for several hours. We saw many beautiful landscapes. We also stumbled upon something rather strange. A group of kids (around 12-14 years old) appeared to be on a run. After looping around the area several times it was a very long run (at least two hours). They were dressed in their school uniforms and were running on the side of the road. My first guess was maybe this was equivalent to the Terry Fox run but after looking more closely I somehow doubt it as many were running in their socks or in their bare feet. It was strange.

After lunch we went to the beach for awhile until we got hit with a downpour! The first real rainstorm I have seen since I have been here. So we decided to head back to the hotel and take our showers and get ready for the evening.

After dinner we went to a Muay Thai show. It was a lot of fun. There were 9 different shows and we had ringside seating. We got to sit on couches really close to the ring. It was great fun and I actually noticed many of the moves we are taught in Combat class being put to use.

This has definitely been my favorite place so far. I enjoy that the pace of life is much more relaxed and the beauty is truly breathtaking.

I have so many bug bites I have lost count. Tyler does not have a single one but my strange unexplained rash still flares up every now and then and I am covered in mosquito and bug bites. I have resorted to taking garlic pills and hoping it will make my skin taste less sweet to the bugs. Cross your fingers for me.

Off to Ko Phi Phi today.

Until next time!

xoxoxoox

Jill

(more pics below)


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb