My Own Interpretation of Krabi Adventure


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ao Nang
February 27th 2010
Published: March 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Saturday, 27th February 2010



My quest for "adventure" continued in Krabi this morning. I had a confession to make though. My "adventure" was nothing quite like rock climbing, scuba diving and kayaking activities which the Krabi locality was well known for. Instead, armed myself with a chopping board, I proceeded to the Ao Nang Thai Cookery School for a crash course in Thai Cuisine this morning.

The price tag itself was never cheap as the school fees was at a touristy price of 1,000 baht. This was the kind of prices we were expecting to pay after my market research. Without much foundation in cooking in general (mum would never like me to invade her territory at home), learning how to whip up 5 Thai dishes at one go was itself an "adventure" for me.

Surprisingly, the adventure wasn't too difficult to comprehend. And surprisingly, I enjoyed the cooking experience. There were 7 aspiring chefs this morning. And I'm the sole representative from the Asian continent.

At the end of the 3 hour course today, I had gotten a Post Graduate Diploma in Thai Cooking (er... hmm), chat up with my fellow mates as we exchanged travel pointers. There was this couple from UK who had just completed their African trip. This was quite out of this world for me thinking that Africa was still off the beaten track for most travellers.

12pm. As we set down to enjoy the fruits of our labour at the roof top, the cooking class was slowly coming to an end. I'm glad to have attended the course today and gained something out of it.

No, I won't be opening a Thai Restaurant anytime soon. The "adventure" was already a good exposure for me.





Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb