Thailand Part 2


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ao Nang
February 15th 2007
Published: February 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

As much as I enjoyed Bangkok, because it is an incredible experience, it isn't realy the place for me. However Khao Sok National Park is more up my street. It is a tropical rainforest that is in the region of 800km2, so quite big.

We arrived early in the morning on monday. We were informed that we were staying in 'simple bungalows', and was slightly worried what this would be like, considering we were in a jungle in a very poor, rural part of Thailand. But to my suprise the accomodation was really nice, and were not as 'simple' as they were made out to be.

That afternoon we went 'tubing' which entailed sitting in a big rubber ring (like the ones attached to the back of speed boats) and floating down the river than ran through the park. Unfortunately I did not take my camera with me for fear of it getting wet, which was a big shame, because it would have been great to capture some of the moments. That night we went to another 'hotel' where another group were staying and had dinner and drinks there. After quite a number of drinks we began playing some bizzare, yet highly amusing drinking games.

The following day we went into the National Park (as we were actually staying just outside it). I reckon after today I am ready to take on the Amazon. Nobody else was up for it except two girls from the other group and myself, but we trekked for 14km through the jungle to reach a waterfall. It was really hard work, because the heat was unbearable, but was really worth it becasue we went for a swim when we got there. The pictures reveal all. That night was probably the best night I have had yet. We went to a reggae bar that had an all-you-can-eat thai BBQ, and we spent all night drinking, eating and dancing.

The next day we drove down to where I am at the moment, Ao Nang. It was a fairly long drive, but we fixed my iPod up to the stereo, so played music all the way, which livened the atmosphere. That afternoon, a few of us did the most exhausting thing I have ever done. We went to a Buddist Temple atop a 'hill' overlooking the bay and the islands. The 'hill' however, was 600m high, and the temple was at the top of 1237 steps. And for the most of it, the steps were at a quite steep gradient. It took me just over half an hour to climb the top. But every step was worth the effort. It was one of the most amazing views I have ever seen. That night was also an amazing night... or heavy night, either way works. We went to one of the most popular bars in the town called 'Luna Bar', which had buy-one-get-one-free on cocktails as it was Valentines Day, and was on the beach. At about midnight they had a fireworks display and people spinning fire around. And of course lots of music, so again we drank and danced the night away.

Today we got a private speed boat, and we all went island hopping round the islands in the bay. And there is only one word to describe what I saw today..... paradise. We went snorkeling where I saw a shark of some sort less than 10m away from me (it was probably about 1m in length and had a black tip on its fin). I also "found Nemo" (I saw a couple of clown fish for those people who havn't seen or heard of the film), amongst swimming with hundreds of exotic fish. We then visited some of the most beautiful beaches I have ever, or probably will ever see.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0954s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb