Wrapping things up


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Northern Thailand
December 7th 2006
Published: December 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So I am trying to unfortunately wrap things up here in Mae Sot. I will try very hard to look for a job that involved Burma when I return so I know I will back here.

My English class gave me this amazing Karen traditional shirt today as a present that I love. It's red and white. I almost cried. I am very sad that I am leaving them. I splurged and bought them two big English-Burmese dictionaries from the market as a going away present for their department.

Friday Dec. 1 was World AIDS Day. As no one really tells us anything at the clinic (or if they do its probably in Burmese) I had no idea what went on and only got to see part of the festivities. Apparently there was a huge parade with many community organizations that marched from the Mae Sot Hospital to the Clinic at 9 am (which I didn';t know so I didn't go) then a bunch of festivities and of course mohinga at the clinic.

Dec. 6 was Dr. Cynthia's 47th birthday (its this weird thing with birthdays here they like to say your age probably because they respect elders). It was a HUGE celebrtaion. Really my goal in life is to have a party like hers. Everyone from the community was there. There was a stage set up for school children to dance and sing to honor her all day and night and of course more mohinga. Dr. Cynthia gave other needy schoolchildren gifts on her own birthday. What a lady. I also got a cool pin with her picture (which was also plastered all over the clinic) to wear which said "Unity in diversity".

I am also posting a picture from BKK two weeks ago of the world's largest golden teak mansion. It was built for the King at the beginning of the twentieth century as is 72 rooms. Currently it is a museum.

Work has been so busy. I have had Community Health volunteer training most evenings from 6:30-8:30 and have a nother school training starting before I lieave.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0213s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb