Sweating in Sukhothai


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Sukhothai
May 1st 2006
Published: May 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sukhotai is a national historic park filled with wat ruins from the Sukhotai kingdom, from the 1200s. It is a huge park so the easiest way to get around is to rent a bike (or a motorcycle but I figure I should learn to ride one before renting one). The ruins were beautiful and the setting they were in made the day great. An idyllic park with ancient ruins that remind you of greek or roman ruins. Until you realize they are only 800 years old. But still older than what you will find in the states. The following are some highlights from some the wat ruins.

The first set of ruins, Wat Mahathat, was huge. There were at least six large sitting buddhas and I saw my first standing buddhas. There were stupas all over the place. Because the ruins are what's left of buddhist temples, they are still used and there were offerings in front of all of the buddhas. Some were draped in yellow cloth, similar to the robes the monks wear.

Wat Tai Tji Kiang was about a mile away and all that is left is the stupa. The stupa is completly surrounded in carved elephants, all in fairly good condition (some are missing bits of tusks). I think the elephants may have been restored but still a cool looking image.

The most impressive wat was Wat Si Chum. I don't know much about the history but this is a place where they get the photos for travel brochures. It was the largest buddha I have seen. The hands alone were bigger than me. The building (mondop) that frames the buddha just makes is more appealing.

Biking to Wat Si Chum I had to stop several times for cow crossings. There is plenty of grass for cows to ear all over Thailand, yet you can see the ribs on so many of them. I really don't understand why.

By this time is was around 2 in the afternoon and I had been biking around for about 3 hours (in the ridiculously hot sun). I was hoping the map provided was correct and turned on to a road that actually wan't part of the park. The map was right but the road was still a major one for bike riding and I had to contend with pick up trucks zooming past me and farm equipment for about a mile. When I got back into the park, the scenery was beautiful but I was reaching my threshold for ruined temples. I knew it was time to head back when after about half a mile, I stopped, climbed up the gravelly hill (tripping twice because I was only wearing flip-flops), looked at the ruins and said "It's just another damn stupa!" Everything in moderation.

It was about three miles back to the park entrance and once I cut out hiking to up rocky hills and sticking to viewing ruins from a moving bike, the afternoon improved. I was biking through a farm area with rice paddies (I think they were rice paddies) and mountains in the distance. And there was no traffic. When I got to back to the main part of the park, I bought a litre of water. I think the woman who sold it to me was concerned because she insisted I sit down next to her while I drank it. She was amazed when I finished it in less then 10 minutes. I guess I can understand her concern because after a few hours in the sun (especially when I
Elephant chedi/stupaElephant chedi/stupaElephant chedi/stupa

These went the whole way around the stupa althouh I think they were restored.
am biking/walking around) I look like a drowned rat where as Thais only glisten. (I actually had a girl give me a pack of tissues on a train the other day to mop my face.) Anyway that was my dehydrating day in Sukhothai and one explanation why I don't include travel pictures of myself.

The next entry will be more interesting for you, I hope.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Wat Sri ChumWat Sri Chum
Wat Sri Chum

Buddha with mondop
Keep eatingKeep eating
Keep eating

There is plenty to eat but still the cows look scrawny.
Damn stupaDamn stupa
Damn stupa

I tripped twice trying to climb up to this one and realized that I had enough. I know the picture isn't great but I almost broke my ankle getting it so everyone has to look at it.


13th May 2006

Maybe skinny cows don't get eaten?
17th May 2006

Stupa-fied
Here I am reading and intoxicating myself with this park you were at that had these exotic structures...and then the last picture with the stupa.....had me laughing....hopefully you're ok now to bike some more life out of ya :)

Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 74; dbt: 0.0714s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb