Monkey on my back


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Lopburi
May 3rd 2006
Published: May 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Monkey CentralMonkey CentralMonkey Central

I will add the name of this wat later, but this is where the monkeys hang out during the day, apparently they cross the street to another shrine at night
Yes there really was a monkey on my back, actually more like in my hair. I think the monkey mistook my ponytail for a cucumber or mango or something. Clearly, I was at fault for making eye contact.

The town of Lopburi pretty much sums up why I like Thailand so much. It is a mid-size city with all the things that go with mid-sized city life. It has amazing ruins throughout the town that are beautiful to look and, of course, a pack of monkeys (actually macaques) that hang out in one part of town.

We're talking hundreds of monkeys here. My first sight of the town was coming in on a train, a set of ruins with a backdrop of a beautiful sunset, and about fifty monkeys looking back at us.

The next day, as I walking towards the monkey infested part of town, I turned a corner and saw one of the guys swinging around on a power line. He was trying to cross it and it wasn't going well, as he kept doing these spins. He made it across though. As I got closer, more, I spotted more monkeys. Hanging out on buildings, one
Glad this isn't my carGlad this isn't my carGlad this isn't my car

These four guys were checking out this car about 30 seconds after the owner had parked it and walked away
was sitting in front of step and using the top of the step as a table for its snack of mango. I saw a monkey thoroughly searching a motorcycle parked on the street. Then I got to the monkey's wat. A bunch of apprentice monks were there feeding the monkeys and there were hundreds of them (monkeys) sitting on the hill. All sizes. I was happy to see that the young monks as well as a few adult Thais were enjoying the spectacle as much as me. It was later on when I was walking around the ruins of the wat that a monkey decided to jump me. No harm no foul though. Leave comments please!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Playing with wiresPlaying with wires
Playing with wires

This is pretty easy to do since power lines droop close to your head or hang down to the ground all over the place
Feeding timeFeeding time
Feeding time

The monkeys weren't as aggressive as I thought they would be when there is food being offer. Maybe the color of the monks robes is soothing.
SnackingSnacking
Snacking

It was strange to watch them eat. They didn't seems to eat the whole piece of fruit but part of it and then they would toss it. Some other monkey would do clean up.
Anti monkey measuresAnti monkey measures
Anti monkey measures

A lot of the buildings near the monkey area were caged in to prevent unwanted monkey entrance. The cones at the bottom of the TV attena's to prevent monkeys using them as a jungle gym also were common


6th May 2006

Very Cool
Ok, so I will admit, with all this monkey talk, I'm kind of curious about their poo -- is it everywhere?? If they were dogs and had that kind of freedom, everyone would be constantly stepping in it : ). How different, neat, and interesting. Happy travels -- kw
7th May 2006

Aren't those the same apes they have in Gibraltor? Maaaannnnn, the ones there are these hateful, thieving, bastard monkys! Maybe they should ship them all back to whence they originate.
9th January 2007

love the monkeys
Alex loves the monkeys. Are they all over the place or just a few areas? Beautiful pics.

Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 18; qc: 78; dbt: 0.0755s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb