Greg Off-Road


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Pai
October 13th 2007
Published: November 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Blue Team - Ready to GoBlue Team - Ready to GoBlue Team - Ready to Go

This is no beginner's trip. We were kitted out with full body armour, metal boots and a cool helmet. I was ready for adventure

Crash course in Off Roading



As I eluded to in my previous blog, by a stroke of luck, the brother of the owner of the bungalows we checked into in Pai just so happened to be a champion dirt bike rider. No exaggeration - a proper champion, the reception area was littered with trophies! The reception area also had pictures on the walls of some pretty mental off-road motorbike action so Rob and I were highly keen to get involved, the only snare was that I had never ridden a motorbike before (mopeds / scooters don't count).

So the owner arranged a meeting with her brother, who was by her own description "slightly mad". When we met Tip that afternoon, we certainly weren't disappointed in the "madness" category! Turns out he is not only a champion dirt bike rider, but also a retired Thai army officer, who served for 20 odd years and fought pretty much everyone in the mountains around the golden triangle!

He agreed to take us subject to me passing a little lesson first. Thankfully I picked it up pretty quick and with a was more than keen to hit the tracks, so we agreed
Red Team - Ready to GoRed Team - Ready to GoRed Team - Ready to Go

Rob had some trouble kitting up - at 6ft3 I think he's a little bigger than they're used to in Thailand!
to set off bright and early the next day.

I will not attempt to describe how amazing the next day was. Suffice to say that it was probably the best thing I have done on my trip, maybe in my life. The exhilaration was phenomenal! Driving a crazy dirt bike up muddy paths in the middle of the jungle in northern Thailand... it just can't be compared to anything else. We didn't see a single other motorised vehicle for the whole day, and the only people ewe bumped into whilst in the jungle were mountain tribes people!

It should also be pointed out that some of the motorbiking we were doing was pretty crazy. Up boulder filled paths, sliding down muddy paths with the brakes locked it was so steep, bombing through knee deep puddles and streams... and more. I was pleased with myself that I only fell off twice the whole day!

It was such a fantastic experience that Rob and I plan to come back and go on a 3 day tour with Tip - he takes a route through Thailand, Burma, Laos and back into Thailand, staying overnight in Thai military camps! He obviously
Tip and the GangTip and the GangTip and the Gang

This guy was a legend, no doubt about it!
held quite a rank as whenever we passed border guards (between the Thai provinces) instead of being stopped, questioned and ID'd as usual, the guards stood to attention, saluted and waved us through!!!




Well, that's quite enough of that! I have tonnes more pictures that I just can't be bothered to upload as it is so painfully slow to upload things from these crappy computers.

I'm still about 4 weeks behind in my blogging... (Sorry) though I'm trying to catch up as best as possible!

Next up, the move to Chiang Rai and the mighty trip back to the UK for a day....




Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Hill TribesHill Tribes
Hill Tribes

These poor people were heavign 50kg sacks of rice up what we struggled to ascend on dirt bikes!!! Humbling.
Village childrenVillage children
Village children

We must have looked like aliens in our bike suits, considering no tourists can reach this place so these kids have probably only ever seen a few white people anyways!
The crazy biker dudesThe crazy biker dudes
The crazy biker dudes

So hot right now
The M25, Thai styleThe M25, Thai style
The M25, Thai style

Trust me, this wasn't the worst of it :)
Rest StopRest Stop
Rest Stop

I'm smiling like a retarded hyena just remembering how fun this was :)
The ViewThe View
The View

Lush..... :)
WE MADE ITWE MADE IT
WE MADE IT

Phew :)


29th November 2007

Life!
Ahhh mate, I miss it. We have to sort it out for next year!!

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0633s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb