Trip to the hidden waterfall


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Pai
November 12th 2017
Published: November 12th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Today, I got up relatively early and got to the starting place of Pai Canyon. Brian, one of the guys that has been here for a while, knew the name and location. So by 10:00 I was ready to go, at the start of the trip. People describe it as a 3.5h jungle trek, with a waterfall at the end.

At the start, I met up with Anne-Katerina, who I met in a previous hostel in Chiang Mai, and Mona. I passed them on the scooter (I'm getting really proficient) a bit earlier and they just arrived at the small parking lot, when I was ready to leave. The nice trip took us about 3h to the waterfall and only 5 minutes before reaching the end, we were passed by a girl that ran the whole thing, Alice. I found a nice spot for us at the second level of the waterfall and settled down near the edge. The water was nice and cold. The fall was big and impressive. German girls like the ground floor better, but Alice, (from Paris, France), turned out to be a pretty good climber and joined me. A picture will be added later 😊.

Because of a bad weather forecast, a bit of sickness and the day not getting any longer, we made plans for the rest of the day😊 I wanted to see the top of the waterfall and found a way to there. The German girls wanted to take it easy and Alice was running back.

10 minutes later, from the top of the waterfall, at 14:09, I decided that I liked a challenge and started running down the path. Caught up with Anne-Katerina and Mona 15 or so minutes later. Said 'Hi!' and kept running. Cleared the whole thing in an hour flat and caught up to Alice just at the end of the route. After advising some newcomers that they would not make the trip in time for dusk to set in (it is dark after 18:00), we made a plan and got to the hot springs nearby. Forgot to make any pictures there, but the place looks nice. Like an overgrown natural spa, with temperatures between 'cooked like a lobster' and 'I can barely stand this', advertised as 36 and 33 degrees C°.

After getting some fuel for me and my scooter, I'm now updating the blog a little. I should not make it too late this day, to have enough time to travel to Chiang Mai tomorrow, by scooter and catch the night train to Bangkok after that... But Alice still owes me a few beers for entry to the spa, so I might just go and enjoy the nightlife here for a bit. I missed the big party yesterday (hidden valley, in the jungle. With electro, rave and all the good stuff), so I might as well 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0324s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb