Chiang Rai Day Trip


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Rai
July 7th 2013
Published: July 20th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Today, Sarah and I got picked up by a mini van at 7am to head up to Chiang Rai. The trip firstly consisted of a stop at some hot springs so we could get a coffee or snack - I had a clear noodle soup with pork for breakfast which set me up for the day. We could bathe our feet in the springs.

Continuing the journey, we stopped off at the white temple 'Wat Rong Khun'. This was unlike any other temple I've seen on the trip so far. It was white (of course) but also made out of bits of mirror. Walking onto the bridge of the temple, there were hands coming up from the ground (one in which had its middle finger up with a painted red nail). It was surrounded by a large pond which was rather pleasant.

Moving on up, we arrived at the Golden Triangle. This is an area where the mountains overlap from Thailand, Laos and Myanmar. It is also an area where opium is mainly produced. We also paid a little extra to have a small boat trip up the Mekong river and cross over to Laos for half an hour. The Laos people had some stalls over there.

We reached the furthest point of Thailand up by the Myanmar border - a photo opportunity to say you have been there.

The thing I was most looking forward to was going to see the hill tribes and the long necked people. However, I was slightly disappointed as the long necked people were just sitting next to their stalls (mainly consisting of their scarves they have made themselves) looking pretty. It didn't feel like I was seeing real life, it was more of a museum of people where many of the other tourists on my trip were getting their cameras in their faces. I felt quite uncomfortable with this, but my tour guide said they do not mind sharing their culture with us and it wasn't a problem.

I do not believe these people are poor, it is just their way of life. Some of the women had blackened teeth. This is something called betel that they chew on - it stains the teeth a dark brown/red colour and I believe it is to show that they are married or in a relationship.

This trip on the whole however was tiring, as a lot of time was spent on the mini bus. However, I still very much enjoyed it.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0643s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb