Trekking in Chiang Mai!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
July 9th 2013
Published: July 20th 2013
Edit Blog Post

After a day of chill time on the 8th, I needed to get out and do something active so I booked myself a trekking day trip.

It was a group of 11 of us. 5 from Hong Kong, 5 from Spain and myself. Their was a language barrier, however, everyone was so kind and to start the day off, one of the Chinese girls bought me a red bull and shared their fruit with me on the tuk tuk to the bus.

The first thing on the itinery was a visit to an orchid farm. From there we had a fair old drive to a rain forest where we were let loose to trek up to the waterfall. I was so happy. Exercise, freedom and beauty. I also had a bamboo walking stick!

The trek had many terrains, climbing up and down rocks, wooden planks over streams and hills. The rest of my group were doing it in their flip flops...

I reached the waterfall. Many other tourists around, but I got my kit off and had a bathe. We were there for at least 45 minutes or so. Trekking back, it rained. I did not give a damn as my hair was already wet and was still in my bathing suit with my shorts on. The Chinese girls got out their umbrellas.

The next part of the trip was white water rafting 😊 well, the water was brown. Same same but different. They must have known they were going to get wet doing this. Our driver pulled up and told us to take our shoes off. We walked bare foot down a hill to the start of the rafting, got geared up and carried on down to the water. This was really muddy and I ended up just sitting on my bum and sliding down the mud. So much fun already.

Our new guy who was taking us down the river ran over a few rules and we set off.

I wanted to enjoy this experience to the max, but some of the others were just not listening to the leader so spoilt it slightly. I would also shout at them if they were not doing as they should. It kind of put our leader in a mood, but health and safety should come course of course.

Following the white water rafting, we climbed aboard a long bamboo raft in which another guy slowly took us down the rest of the calm river.

After the fun and excitement of this, our driver took us to ride some elephants. As we were an odd number, I had to share an elephant with one of the Spanish guys. I did not mention that these 3 Spanish guys had ripped bodies, walked around in their speedos and took photos of themselves all the way through the trip - some may find this nice, however, I found it rather cringe-ful. Anyway.

Heading back to our guesthouses, I was greeted with a BBQ, organised by Nina (the crazy sip sip lady) where I chilled out with Sarah and a few others before my departure the next day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.207s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.182s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb