The best bakery..


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Rai
August 28th 2012
Published: August 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I wish I'd noted the name of the bakery I stopped at for lunch today... It was THE best bakery around. Lots Of home make cakes, pastries and bread.

Whilst in their I met an older gentleman, perhaps in his 70's who moved to chiang rai over 20 years ago. He's a Welshman but retired in chiang rai and seems to Love his life here. It was a shame I'd not met him earlier as he told me some great places to visit and some great restaurants to eat at... I guess just another excuse to come back some day. We talked for over 2 hours about my onward plans and his life, including him meeting the king of Thailand. He was a dentist in his earlier days but now does little but enjoy a relaxed life here in Thailand.

Before that I had a morning by the pool, the sun was out and it's been a humid 40+ degrees most of the day... I'm sad to say I've a little sunburn! Oops

By the pool I met an Irish couple that had just started out on their rtw trip. They are taking a similar route to me only of a shorter duration. They are in chiang rai until Thursday when they then head to Laos. One funny thing to note is that all backpackers talk to each other, you can make good, albeit rather temporary friends, however likely you are to meet Them again on the trip but the past thing we ever ask each other is names! We learn about each others travel plans, swap travel tales, eat and drink together, talk about family and where we live back home, but names are the last thing, usually because you meet so many people it's hard to recall everyone's name.

Anyway, so I booked a package with the guesthouse for my trip to laos, which means I'll be collected at 07.15 tomorrow and head to chiang khong, there we get a little boat across the border, getting stamped out ofThailand and getting the 30 day visa for Laos, arriving in huay xai, Laos we take the 2 day slow boat to luang prabang. At the end of day 1 the boat stops at pakbeng overnight and then we arrive sometime Thursday evening in luang prabang. There are no food/drinks provided on the boat so the advice is to stock up beforehand, lest we not forget though that I'm in Thailand; what is a person supposed to buy that will a) fill you up and b) last in hot weather?!

Anyway,there will be no posts for a few days now, until I'm in luang prabang, but I'm sure there will be tales to tell of the adventures aboard a slow boat!!

Off for tea now, not venturing out tonight as want an early night before getting up early tomorrow so intend to eat at the guesthouse

Oh, on another Note, Not sure if I previously mentioned but I started my anti malarials last night and it's true what they say, they make you feel pretty groggy!

Love to all xxxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.205s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb