Just arrived...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Rai
September 5th 2008
Published: September 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello. Am in chiang rai, in northern thailand. Getting used to unfailiar keyboards again, so please excuse occasional finger- slippin' typo. Has been a bit touch and go as to whether I'd actually make it, what with the state of emergency being called and my bank freezing y bank acount four days before I was due to fly out because of what they thought was 'suspicious' activity (ie all my money seems to have gone missing).

Am staying at this funky little hotel called the Mantrini. Got here about an hour ago, after about thirty hours of no sleep, incorporating a ten hour flight and a six hour stop over at Bangkok's new airport- if you're planning to do similar, you might want to think again - the new airport isn't really geared up for people who have six hours to doss between flights (unless you're loaded and flying first class, in which case you can use one of the lounges). As for the hoi polloi, we get nasty, uncomfortable plastic chairs, and not many of them either. There aren't even man decent cafe's were you can go for a quiet kip- they tend, in the main, towards the McCaff. (See - I'm providing a public service here)

Did a bit of people watching. There were a couple of elderly buddhist monks at heathrow, waiting for the same flight as me, mobile phones jammed to their ears, a little group of carrier bags at their feet, looking like so many plump little polythene buddhas.

Anyway, probably have an early night tonight, then start having a look about tomorrow. Keen to do a mini trek (nothing too strenuous - I am on holiday!!), but might need to see if I can join a group for that, as have a feeling it might be a bit expensive to do on me tod. Also might do a river trip - jury still out on that one.

well, am off now to sit by my poolside verandah. Will keep in touch.

Advertisement



6th September 2008

Off again !
I see I'm the only one so far to comment on your blog. But I guess that's what Mum's are for. Have told your American fan that you are on the move again. She is such a kind lady - I am sure she will have a look. Take care !

Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb