Walking, sitting, walking, sitting...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
September 19th 2006
Published: September 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

"Meditation is an adventure, adventure into the unknown, the greatest adventure the human mind can take."
"Meditation, the first and last freedom" by Osho

I'm sorry friends that this blog seems colorless. I have been visited many places during my journey, but there is one very important place I haven't visited thoroughly yet, the world inside myself.

That's the reason I headed to Chiang Mai for a meditation course in a monastery. During the 10-days meditation retreat, I wasn't allowed to leave the monastery. Only go inside, to observe my body, mind, feelings, and emotions without judgement. And act like a witness, to see everything that happens around me as it is.

I have to admit that the first 3 days were really adventurous. Both physical hardship and mental conflict had climbed up on my back.

Physical hardship including the pain that appears during sitting and walking meditation for 9 hours/day, the hunger of able to eat only 2 meals a day (6:00am & 10:30am), the chill under the cold water showers, the sleepiness of having to be awake 18hours/day, and the uncomfort of sharing a room with ants, flies, spiders, lizards. I even found a cute centipede resting on my bed one day.

But compare to the physical hardship, the mental struggle is much more obvious. Depression arises when isolated from the appealing outside world. Loneliness stands out when communication with people, even reading books and writing were not allowed. We were trying to live in the present moment mindfully and silently.

Things got better and better, at the end, I was just so glad that I had stayed. Having able to be in that monastic atmosphere was serreal. I admire so many people there, including the monks, the nuns, and the yogis. I always wonder what gives Thailand the tile of "The land of smile", now I think it's the religion that has given them the happiness and wisdom.

What I had learned from it is a secret that I will not reveal/smile, but anyone who's interested can try it out, you just have to experience it by yourself.

"Look within, be still, free from fear and attachment, know the sweet joy of the way."
Buddha

Advertisement



15th February 2007

emotion
Your writing style is amaxing Sandra. Whenever I read it I feel like it is sometimes a mirror into my own thoughts. It is beautiful and full of emotion and romance. You should be a travel writer.
30th March 2007

WOW!!!
Kudos to you, Sandra! I don't think I could do that. Cold showers? OK, fine. Bugs in the room? I can deal. No communication, reading or writing for 10 days. No thanks, I'll pass. Only 2 meals a day, for 10 days??!!! And the last meal of the day is at 10:30 am???!!!! 10:30 A.M??!!! GAAAAAHH!!! I'd probably turn to cannibalism on day 2!!! I bet monks are really tasty too, with all the Thai food they eat! Mmmmmm, thai food... Seriously though, your blogs are awesome! I recently read the one on Tibet - Wa wa wee wa! Keep it up!
1st April 2007

Yaya~
You Crazzy Tommyboy, I am so grateful that you were not there when I was meditating!!! Love your wicked amazing brilliant sense of humour!!^^

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 76; dbt: 0.0622s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb