Pain and killers.


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
December 7th 2014
Published: December 13th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Our today’s trip would lead us further east from lake Doi Tao. We had no exact destination to go as we did not find any accommodation in the internet. We decided to go to a place with many roads, that were set in an odd way, reminding us of US city planning and look for a place to sleep there.



We started around 7 a.m., the weather was cloudy and we were making acceptable speed along the rural road. Of course the endless up and down the hill slowed us down. Unfortunately one of my muscles started making problems and until noon it hurt so bad that I could basically not bike any more. At lunch break I had to take a painkiller and started to push my bike up a steep hill. It was really hard and I was actually thinking about hitching a ride with some pick-up truck but then it seems the painkiller kicked in and also the roads went down finally and with a good portion of stubbornness and motivation I finally made it to Na Sai.



Meanwhile our scout Mo had found accommodation for us in a temple. He actually was not so happy with it but I encouraged them because I thought it would be a fantastic experience. We moved into a very simple room inside the temple area and we got to know to Khun Sont Gham, an English teacher at the local school.



He was incredibly welcoming and again impressed me with the Thai hospitality. We waited until we showered and then took us into town, showed us the temple, prayed inside the temple with us (he lead the prayers and we repeated them) and even invited us for dinner. But the highlight was his story about the town which I want to share with you next.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0589s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb