On The Road


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
November 12th 2012
Published: November 12th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Righto! time to breath a sigh of relief. After a brace of flights to Thailand to avoid the dead end (roadwise) that is Mayanmar, I'm now de-lighted to type that I'm in Chiang Mai. A treat to ears,eyes and palate, as compared to the subcontinent I've just left.

No honking of horns, No hawking and spitting of probable tuberculous phlegm, No gutters full of detritus and worse! Nobody seen pooing or peeing in the street. The temples are beautiful. Paradise regained.

However inevitably I have to report my very 1st flat on the trip. My own idiotic fault. Having reconstituted the bike on the concourse of Chiang Mai airport without much trouble, I failed to check that the rear tyre and inner tube were properly set in the rim. Very simple stuff really. I noted an odd minor wobble in the steering on the 3km from a'port to city and then noticed the tyre off the friggin'rim and the inner tube wrapped around the rear sprocket (cog to non- paddalists) I couldn't even walk it to the nearest hotel. Fortunately taxis in Thailand are sufficiently capacious to take Koga Kit and Kaboodle without dismantling it again. Easily sorted the following morning after 15 hours sleep. Must be getting (even) older.

So onward and downward. In a couple of days I'll continue south to Bangkok or perhaps to the coast/Andaman sea and see if I can get in a dive or 2. Leave the bike and most kit down there and bus back up here to meet 'n greet Lin on December 3rd.

Things are definitely looking up.

Nick B Cyclopath

Advertisement



12th November 2012

Hello from very boring by comparison Lymington!
Have just read your latest All we can say is wow!! congrats on this massive achievement. Whilst it easy to change an inner tube, what the hell do you do about your arse! Good wishes and continued bon voyage from Dave & Linda x
15th November 2012

Arse! What Arse?
I havn't felt my arse for the last 5000km!. It's numbed and insensible from prolonged association with my Brookes saddle.I think the arse is still down there somewhere but it's been pounded into a nubbin of rathere insubstantial proportions. Note to lard-arses: this is definitely NOT a good way to trim the bum. The 'achievement' isn't massive. Only the time its taken to get here! Loving Thailand. Love, Nick
12th November 2012

OH the fleshpots of Changmei
I remember it well!!! After a 5 day treck in the Golden triangle,where ,if you need to perform one of the necessities of daily living, it was a toss up wether to squat cheek by jowl or jowl by jowl The Changmei Guest house was a haven of tranquility...& the buffallow steaks ..to die for!

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb