Bangkok to Chiang Mai


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
October 20th 2011
Published: October 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well, yesterday turned out to be quite some day. For a start, the most mental rain ive ever witnessed, KhaoSan road was flooded up to my knees in the space of 35 minutes, insane! All the shops were frantically sandbagging, but it all drained away 2 hours later!

After deciding to push the boundaries out and start meeting people, I did just that. I went for a foot massage on KhaoSan Road and got chatting to an Israeli dude sitting next to me, he and his friend asked if I wanted to join them for some traditional Israeli food and I accepted (kebabs and hummus ha ha). After this we went for a drink, then I headed off in preperation for an early night....this should be some sort of Tui add! I got back to my hostel and went to the bar for a peppermint tea, while in bar drinking my tea I got chatting to a group of american/swedish guys who were heading to see a ping pong show and asked if I wanted to join...several vodkas and jaegar bombs later we were in a cab to Cowboy Road, then bargained our way into a nightclub to watch girls blow ping pong balls out of there fannys. Very strange, instead of blowing them out in the air like I thought they would, they kind of just dropped them into pint glasses (some even missed the glass), very disapointing. Suffice to say we didnt stick around long, it was very sleazy, and watching all the seedy old expat men feel up young thai girls did not have any appeal whatsover, pretty disturbing to be honest.

So we then headed to a nightclub in KhaoSan Rd, where I befriended a couple of english dudes, a dutch model and ladyboy, good times. As im sure you are aware there is much more to this story but I am keeping it PG for Mum and Grans stake 😊

This morning was a struggle getting up and on the plane to Chiang Mai, my head was hurting baaaadddd. Befriended a nice couple (from Melbourne) on the plane and shared a cab into town with them. I then sorted my visa for Vietnam which should get to me on Saturday, booked to go on the Gibbons experience tomorrow, and had a lovely facial to top it all off! I then went to meet me new Ozzie friends for drinks earlier but unfortunately something I have eaten must not have agreed with me as I couldnt even make it to the loo in time to chunder, not cool! Feel much better after getting it all out though ha ha.

Now thats it from me for the next few days, going to get my adventure head on and get out there and enjoy all Chiang Mai has to offer! Still debating whether to head to Pai on Saturday or Monday at the moment, but im worried they may not have anywhere I can watch the ruggers in Pai, so if anyone knows please FB message me 😊

xoxo

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb