Bangkok - days 1-2


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
October 19th 2011
Published: October 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Righty ho peeps, lets see how long I can keep this up for (ill try my best I promise)!

So, after a lovely farewell dinner with Rach, Ella, and Lans I toddled off on my todd to heathrow. On arrival I received a minor heart attack from the Qantus people telling me I was not allowed on the flight as I did not have a visa to Thailand, and would need to pop over to BA to book an internal flight. This turned out to be a load of bollocks thankfully, and I was allowed on as long as I promised not to outstay the 30 day rule.

The flight itself was fine, slept most of the way due to the previous 7 days of non stop drinking so I was pretty fne once I reached Bangkok. I got chatting to a Spanish couple outside the airport and shared a taxi with them into Khaosan Road. After farewelling them I arrived to DD Inn, a pretty mad hotel with a roof top swimming pool and bar (cheers for the recomendation Stuie). Counting down the hours until Cathy arrived I went immediatley out for Pad Thai, so freakin good!

Cathy arrived at 8.30pm, we headed straight to the pool bar for coktails and a cath up then headed out and SHOPPED! OMG have a I shopped and its only day 1! 3 dresses, 2 singlets, and a skirt...rarow where am I going to fit it! We then headed off to bed around midnight as Cathy needed to get her flight pretty early this morning (she is volunteering up north for a month, I shall hopefully catch her for a few weekend along the way, then we intend to spend a month down on the islands).

This morning was very strange being on my own, fist time ive travellled on my own (apart from Egypt and that was a tour) so im really going to have to push the boundaries out and meet some people...im going to head up to the pool now, that should help!

So im off to Chiang Mai tomorrow morning, managed to score a flight for 40 quid with Air Asia. Ill probably spend at leaast 4 nights there as I need to sort out my visa for Vietnam, and want to ensure im in a happening place to watch the All Blacks cane the frogs on Sunday (pun intended) 😊

Love to you all! xo

Advertisement



Tot: 0.034s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0193s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1024kb