Chiang mai


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
March 14th 2011
Published: March 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I finally made it out of Bangkok. That food poisoning really took it out of me!!
I took the over night bus to Chiang mai, and here i am.
I wouldn't recommend anyone come here and soak up the culture on the street, there isn't any.It's not like Bangkok. I noticed that straight away. It feel a little more like i expected Thailand to be.
All cultural experience has to be paid for otherwise you're just sat in a cafe watching the local gogo scene. Billed as the opposite of Bangkok, I expected the town centre to be tranquil and reserved but in truth, it's filled with perverts and drunks (I didn't expect to see numerous pubs called Rory's and John's Place). But, that's the way it is so like I said, i got the wallet out.

Our second day was spent trekking through nearby Mae Wang. We visited the Karen Hilltribe village and I went for a swim in a secluded waterfall pool.

I went bamboo rafting down the river. This was great, the rafts barely stayed afloat and you ended up soaked, not least of all because the locals, relaxing by the banks on the weekend took it upon themselves to kick water at us constantly. I just tossed water back at them and they didn't seem to care. I defo recommend this! It's so much fun!! And a great way to cool off!!

That's it for now, but i shall be on line when i have more to share!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb