Jungle Fever


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
January 24th 2011
Published: January 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello there!! How's it going? Good I hope. Anyway, I've done some actually interesting things since I last wrote to you all so I thought I'd share, and spread a little jealousy.

I told you all last time that we were whisked away to book a tour in Chaing Mai, well, for those that don't know, Chaing Mai is a sizeable distance from Bangkok, so Thursday was spent on our V.I.P bus travelling all the way up. The bus was pretty comfy, but even so, after around 10 hours we were glad to get off.

The fact that the tour started early the following day and that we both fell asleep for about 15 hours after I'd written my last blog meant that we'd managed to see none of Bangkok or Chaing Mai before we found ourselves in the North Thailand jungle which was fairly unusual.

The trekking tour that we opted for ran for 3 nights and 2 days and involved us staying in big outdoor hut type buildings in the 'villages' of the hill tribes. It was a very good experience, despite the fact that our second night, at a village next to a river was up there with the worst and coldest nights slepp of my life. And we got to spend alongside some new friends from the Netherlands (not Holland), Norway, Canada and the UK.

There are so many different treks that you can do in the Chaing Mai area that they often tend to include other activities to entice you. With ours we had an elephant ride and a rafting ride, both of which were fairly amazing. Also, between water battles with other rafts and the elephant sneezing/ spitting on me with it's trunk when we didn't feed it, both were quite wet too!!

Anyway, I'm running out of time, I had an hour to write this and I got severely distracted along the way so I'm now typing like a maniac.

Chris is fine, had a good birthday, bout blocked his PIN on his cash card so is. if you didn't know this already, an idiot. Our next plan is to head into Laos, possibly on the slow boat, but we don't know when yet. I'll let you know.

Speak soon!!

Si

xxx

Advertisement



24th January 2011

Nott too jealous x
24th January 2011

Hey Si, good to talk to you on skype yesterday - keep spreading the jealousy we are all fairly close to severe depression already!! Take care xxxx
26th January 2011

WOW. Sounds immense mate, VIP bus ride? epic. Wales is good, raining and all that jazz! Saty safe and you two look after each other. You and the elephant have dissimilar features. xx

Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb